x
Chess - Play & Learn

Chess.com

FREE - In Google Play

FREE - in Win Phone Store

VIEW
Against the rules? - Knight wins against Bishop and Pawn

Against the rules? - Knight wins against Bishop and Pawn

Klauer
Mar 19, 2016, 10:43 AM 0
As written before I like endings. This one was astonishing for me while playing. The rule is: A Bishop is stronger when there is a fight on both wings. Another rule is: The Knight is stronger against a bad bishop.
Here is an ending with a free pawn on the side of the bad white squared bishop. The free pawn is again a general advantage. But in this case it blocks his bishop. So over all we have an equal endgame fight with chances for both sides. See what happens after a French Opening, when white succeeded in exchanging every piece exept the bad bishop.
After Kg3 black will win the pawn g2. Has white enough attack to compensate this? What do you think?
The bishop couldn't use his long legs. The own pawns and the pawns of the enemy enchained him. So the short legged knight was stronger.

Online Now