x
Chess - Play & Learn

Chess.com

FREE - In Google Play

FREE - in Win Phone Store

VIEW
The Secret of Chess?'s Thumbnail

The Secret of Chess?

GM smurfo Dec 2, 2017

A couple of months ago, I received a curious email:   Hello, Mr. Smerdon, I recently published an innovative book on chess knowledge/evaluation, 'The Secret of Chess'.  It is written very much in the vein of Nimzovich's and Kmoch's ...

An insider's view on the Fide Grand Prix's Thumbnail

An insider's view on the Fide Grand Prix

GM gmjlh Nov 30, 2017

The Fide Grand Prix of 2017 has come to an end, with Grischuk and Mamedyarov earning well-deserved spots in the Candidates tournament. I was lucky to get a spot in the series, and compete against the very best in the world. These are my thoughts o...

Do You Have This Problem Too?'s Thumbnail

Do You Have This Problem Too?

GM Illingworth Nov 29, 2017

Do you find it difficult to use the range of chess resources effectively? Are you lost and confused for where to begin your chess training?  On Friday 1st December, I (GM Max Illingworth) will be presenting a free webinar on How to ...

Announcing 100 Followers Online Tournament's Thumbnail

Announcing 100 Followers Online Tournament

EOGuel Nov 28, 2017

Hello, dear followers! I have a (somewhat) special announcement. Once I reach the magic number of chess.com followers (100), I will be hosting a brief online tournament to celebrate. Here is the format in a nutshell: Live chess.com. Fi...

50 Follower Q&A? Something Else? You Decide!'s Thumbnail

50 Follower Q&A? Something Else? You Decide!

chesster3145 Nov 27, 2017

Hi all,     Welcome to my second big announcement, this time about everything that's not a new series. In this post, I'll talk about a little blogging milestone I hit a short time ago.     After all, I still need ...

Path To Chess Prosperity #8: An Update's Thumbnail

Path To Chess Prosperity #8: An Update

EOGuel Nov 26, 2017

Hello, loyal readers! Well, as the title may hint, this post may be somewhat on the boring side. Or, it may be a little bit interesting (depending on the reader). Anyways, once again, I do not have tournament games to analyze/brag t...

Please Send Me Your Queries's Thumbnail

Please Send Me Your Queries

MiddlegamerUmesh Nov 25, 2017

Hello Friends! In my last blog , which was part of the series Amateur Chronicles, I told you that I was going to concentrate on the problems faced by amateurs. In fact, I am an amateur myself and have many problems which could be highlig...

Some outtakes of my second book's Thumbnail

Some outtakes of my second book

FM like-a-hurricane Nov 25, 2017

A few days ago I received the first batch of proofs of my manuscript which will quite soon result in the publication of my second book, Neumann, Hirschfeld and Suhle. 19th Century Berlin Chess Biographies with 711 Games.  In Septemb...

Amateur Chronicles : Introduction's Thumbnail

Amateur Chronicles : Introduction

MiddlegamerUmesh Nov 25, 2017

Hello Everyone! I am back with a new series and as the title suggests, it is something related to amateurs. I will be focusing on the problems faced by many amateurs and club players. In fact, why do amateurs face problems? This is a very importan...

A Few New Series's Thumbnail

A Few New Series

chesster3145 Nov 24, 2017

    Hello blog fans,     I'm here to make an important announcement, the first of two or three, and one that I'm sure will bring even more dynamism and exciting content to this blog, and that will lay the foundation...

Building Blocks's Thumbnail

Building Blocks

EOGuel Nov 22, 2017

Black to play. Use your building blocks to find an ideal setup for Black. (Hint is below in case you want to take advantage of it). Hint: Your overall setup will favor you even if the positional attributes may not appear ideal....

The 1st GingerGM Party!!!!'s Thumbnail

The 1st GingerGM Party!!!!

GM Ginger_GM Nov 22, 2017

The 18th of November was a special day for GingerGM, after years of saving and building up our business, we decided to spend all of our hard earned profits on a party. In the words of one of England's finest footballers, George Best, " I spent a l...

Massive Black Friday Sale at ChessUniversity.com's Thumbnail

Massive Black Friday Sale at ChessUniversity.com

GeniusKJ Nov 22, 2017

Holidays are here, and what better way to spend them than to enjoy some of our high class video courses? Chess University is offering great discounts for one whole week. Whether you are a regular Chess University student or want to try one of ou...

Singapore juniors performing creditably abroad's Thumbnail

Singapore juniors performing creditably abroad

CM juniortay Nov 19, 2017

Once the final academic exams were over, some promising juniors (and their parents) took the opportunity to test their skills abroad. If one can afford to do so, it is a great idea as I've always felt our juniors are way underrated. basically taki...

Chess.com Dev Update: November 16th, 2017's Thumbnail

Chess.com Dev Update: November 16th, 2017

News Nov 16, 2017

Chess.com Main:  For months you've read about Vue this, Vue that... Well for live chess, Vue is for real now! Live chess is basically brand spanking new from the ground up! It looks exactly the same but the code underneath is new and shin...

Thoughts on broadcasting rights's Thumbnail

Thoughts on broadcasting rights

GM gmjlh Nov 15, 2017

"Agon wants people to pay for chess moves. Why aren’t the players uniting," asks some of the top chess twitter personalities. I think the simple reason is that many top players agree; that to commercialize chess, organizers need to create mo...

Top

Online Now