Weird Mechanic in Atomic

Sort:
Datboi1927

In this game https://www.chess.com/variants/atomic/game/11817303/15/3 I experienced something that I thought was odd. In move 8 when white checked me, I still could have moved my queen to D1# before white would be able to capture my king. But the computer wouldn't let me move my queen. Is this a chess rule that I am unaware of? And could this happen in a regular game of chess?

Aron_08

Because he would blow up first your king so this is why Qd1 is illegal