Event Chess Game (Junebug444 vs Fly-Eagles-Fly) #2.1


This is an event chess game between @Junebug444 and @Fly-Eagles-Fly.


Game rules:

Game starts like a normal chess game with 2 additional rules:

  1. Each player may once/game start an event during his turn before making a move (Just say "start event").
  2. A player may not capture more than 2 pieces that are not pawns before starting an event (This is to make sure both players need to start an event).

Note that each player starting one event means a game will become a combination of 2 events.

Other rules of this game are identical with rules of classical chess.


When an event starts it will be chosen randomly from over 100 events and consists of some sort of rule changes to the game. More about event chess can be read here.


@Junebug444 will play white. Good luck!


Good luck!


Yup gl. e4.















Start event




Event #25 Peaceful Knights

Knights can not be captured or capture pieces. Instead of making a normal move on their turn, a player must make a knight move followed by a non-knight move on their turn. When moving the knight, a player may make any non-capture knight move, even if it would result in being in check, checkmate or stalemate. If no knight move is legal, then only a non-knight move will be made.


Note: Since knights can not be captured they will never leave the board. Since knights can not capture pieces they can not deliver checks. Knights will be mostly useful for blocking enemy pieces.


Example 1:

Black to move. Whites knight does not threaten to capture blacks king, so black is not in check. Whites knight can not be captured, so gxf6 is not a legal move. Blacks knights can not capture, so Nxd4 is not a legal move. Black chooses to play

1...Ne3, Bc5

White plays 2.Ng8, Qxg7

Black plays 2...Ne5, Bd4

Black wants to move his knight away from e5 and then capture whites queen. White can not play Bxd8, Nf6 since white needs to move his knight first. Instead white plays.

3.Nf6, Qxh8#

No matter what black does, hes king will be captured next move, so he is checkmated. Black can not move his king to e7 since then white has Ng8, Bxe7. Blacks plan of moving his knight away from e5 and then capture whites queen did not work since white blocked it with Nf6.


Example 2:

In this position, white has no legal knight move, so he will only make a non-knight move. In this case white choose to play


Black did not want to move any of his knights, but he has to. If the knights have a legal move a knight move must be made. Black played 1...Nf4, Kd4 and eventually managed to win.


Example 3:

White plays 1.Nh7, g8=N. This is possible since white is allowed to put himself in check after the knight move.

Black plays 1...Ng4, a1=Q+

White plays 2.Ng7 =

White does not have any legal move, so the game ends in stalemate. This is possible since the knight move is allowed to be a move that puts yourself in stalemate. White had other legal moves, such as 2.N5f6, Kg7, but he did not want to play that.


Example 4:

This position on the other hand with white to move is not stalemate. White is allowed to put himself into check/checkmate when making the knight move, so the game can end with (for example) 1.Ng4#. After the knight move white has no legal non-knight move that does not leave himself in check and he is checked by an enemy piece. So it is a checkmate. Black wins by white checkmating himself.




Nf3, Bf4


4. Nf6, Qe4+


Martin0, are those examples from actual games?

Nc3 Be3


Start Event!


@hitthepin, no the examples are not from actual games. I often try to make up positions that features the rules well and sometimes I make the extra effort to make it look like a position that could happen in a real game. In the first example for the peaceful knights event, I even have some opening moves in mind of how the position could be reached.

1.e4, Nf3 1...e5, Nc6 2.d4, Nc3 2...Nf6, exd4 3.Nd5, Qxd4 3...b6, Ng4 4.Nf6 Bg5


The second, third and fourth examples are completely made up positions with no consideration of how the position was reached.


@Junebug444 and @Fly-Eagles-Fly, before starting the event I note that white moved his bishop to f4 and not to c4. The diagram is wrong.



Oops. are you still fine with your move, Junebug444?


It’s fine, let’s just continue as it was.