stalemate by repetitive moves

Sort:
Avatar of turtleboiii
why does stalemate by 3 repeated moves not work???
Avatar of notmtwain
turtleboiii wrote:
why does stalemate by 3 repeated moves not work???

A draw by repetition of position requires that every piece is in the exact same position three times. Also, it has to be with the same side having the move. 

Which game are you talking about?

 

Avatar of turtleboiii

how can i show you the game? it is one i played with a random opponent

Avatar of notmtwain
turtleboiii wrote:

how can i show you the game? it is one i played with a random opponent

Every game played on the site is stored in your archive.

I could open any of these and copy the score here.

Avatar of turtleboiii

it is the one played with f8a, thank you very much for taking the time

Avatar of Gomer_Pyle

For three time repetition to work every pawn and piece must be in exactly the same position and the same player have the move. You kept moving between the same two squares but your opponent did not repeat their moves, so the same position for both players did not repeat.

Avatar of notmtwain
turtleboiii wrote:

it is the one played with f8a, thank you very much for taking the time



Avatar of Laskersnephew

Also, please note that a draw by three-fold repetition is not automatic! You have to claim it. On Chess.com, if you think there is a three-fold repetition, press the draw button. If you are correct, the drawn will be granted automatically. But it is up to the player to claim the draw

Avatar of notmtwain
Laskersnephew wrote:

Also, please note that a draw by three-fold repetition is not automatic! You have to claim it. On Chess.com, if you think there is a three-fold repetition, press the draw button. If you are correct, the drawn will be granted automatically. But it is up to the player to claim the draw

It is automatic as of a couple of months ago.

Avatar of Gomer_Pyle

Also, the three-time repetition of position and move does not have to happen three moves in a row. There can be other moves in between the repeated positions. As long as the position is exactly the same and the same person has the move it is a draw by three-fold repetition

Avatar of 4xel

Your moves were kind of repetitive, but it is actually the position that has to be repetitioning.

 

Also, do note that stalemate does not equate draw. Stalemate is were no legal moves are available. In modern occidental chess, Stalemate leads to the game ending in a draw. But it is nonsensical to say "stalemate by three fold repetion". Stalemate and three fold repetition are 2 distinct concepts which are both deemed as a draw in occidental chess (but can have various other consequences in chess variant and other board games).

Avatar of Laskersnephew
notmtwain wrote:
Laskersnephew wrote:

Also, please note that a draw by three-fold repetition is not automatic! You have to claim it. On Chess.com, if you think there is a three-fold repetition, press the draw button. If you are correct, the drawn will be granted automatically. But it is up to the player to claim the draw

It is automatic as of a couple of months ago.

Really? That's not how the rules of chess work

Avatar of Sred
Laskersnephew wrote:
notmtwain wrote:
Laskersnephew wrote:

Also, please note that a draw by three-fold repetition is not automatic! You have to claim it. On Chess.com, if you think there is a three-fold repetition, press the draw button. If you are correct, the drawn will be granted automatically. But it is up to the player to claim the draw

It is automatic as of a couple of months ago.

Really? That's not how the rules of chess work

Here they do.

https://support.chess.com/article/1042-i-got-a-draw-by-repetition-how-did-that-happen

Avatar of Piscivore

It might be worth noting that in threefold repetitions, it doesn't matter which piece moved last to create the repetition, so long as the same player is to move and the position is completely identical (including possible details like an en passant capture being legal or not, or castling being legal; for instance, if White's king has moved for the first time from e1 to f1 and then went back to e1, castling is no longer possible so the positions are not deemed to be identical. Also, in a position in which pairs of knights or rooks of the same color have somehow changed places, the repetition is still valid.  

Fischer once claimed a draw even though a different piece had moved to create the repetition each time; the commentary was that, even so, he had noticed it at once. 

Avatar of turtleboiii

oh wow thank you for this information, much appreciated