king move

Sort:
Avatar of akmalsm143
Can a king move diagonal to pawn ...
Avatar of andrewnox

A King can move one square in any direction. It can not move into a square that an enemy piece attacks (it can not place itself in check).

Avatar of eric0022
akmalsm143 wrote:
Can a king move diagonal to pawn ...

 

Of course it can!

 

 

Avatar of akmalsm143
How...?
Diagonal to pawn is a dangerous zone for king...
So how can it move....?
Avatar of akmalsm143
You are rightvin this way... but i m talking about diagonally front of pawn...,
Do u understand my question...?
Avatar of eric0022
akmalsm143 wrote:
You are rightvin this way... but i m talking about diagonally front of pawn...,
Do u understand my question...?

 

You wrote in the original comment 'diagonal to pawn' without reference to the king being diagonally in front of the pawn.

 

Of course the king cannot move to a square in which the pawn attacks (i.e. diagonally in front).

Avatar of akmalsm143
One thing more dear....
Can a pawn capture the king...?
Avatar of eric0022

The objective of the game is to capture the opponent's king. However, practically speaking, we do not actually capture the kings.

 

Moving the king to an attacked square (such as a pawn's capturing squares) is forbidden by the rules of chess because the king would be captured by the pawn. So in practical situations, we are not allowed to move the king to an attacked square, and we do not capture kings at all.

Avatar of Lord_Hammer
akmalsm143 wrote:
How...?
Diagonal to pawn is a dangerous zone for king...
So how can it move....?

He’s giving an example of it. 

What “dangerous zone” is this? 

 

 

Avatar of blueemu
akmalsm143 wrote:
One thing more dear....
Can a pawn capture the king...?

The game always ends by checkmate if the King is in a position where he cannot escape capture.

So no, the King cannot be captured... the game ends before that can happen.

Avatar of RJCRJC1

The black pawns are moving down the board in the second game, and that black pawn captures on d3 and f3

Avatar of Cindy0818
eric0022 wrote:
akmalsm143 wrote:
Can a king move diagonal to pawn ...

 

Of course it can!

 

 

Right! But not "in-front-diagonal".

Avatar of Cindy0818

Well, you could move in "front-diagonal' to your own pawn.

Avatar of Cindy0818

but I still dunno...

Avatar of andrewnox

What's the confusion? The King can not move into any square that an enemy piece attacks (it can not place itself in check). Simples. You can not put the king on ANY square where the opponent could capture it on their next move.

Avatar of Tomeinheber

You're right

Avatar of Cindy0818
andrewnox wrote:

What's the confusion? The King can not move into any square that an enemy piece attacks (it can not place itself in check). Simples. You can not put the king on ANY square where the opponent could capture it on their next move.

KNOW that.

Avatar of Lord_Hammer

Then what's the confusion? 

Avatar of Cindy0818

meh.png<(MEH.)

Avatar of Lord_Hammer

You did not answer my question.