Forums

Help me understand

Sort:
Chessone1

This is my first time to post here ... so please execuse my mistakes ... and thanks in advance .

jonnin

c3 allows the knight b3, so I do not think it is an optimal line. 

18 Nf3 is a little better simply because you rooted a knight deep in his territory.  Deep knights reduce your opponent's mobility from fear of forks, captures, or having to guard pawns, etc.   Here, for example, his rook is bothered to guard a pawn now and his bishop is under attack.   These are future possible moves that may soon help you a lot, so your overall positional score is a little better. 

What you did was fine however.  The difference is tiny, and the trades improved your situation somewhat, giving an open file for the queen, taking away his strong bishop. 

19 b3 seems right, followed by Rc1 or c4 (depends on what he does, if he attacks rook with knight, Rc1 seems useful and later I think you may even find a way to trap the knight).   If he retreats c4 seems good.  Re1 later seems to be a future idea.

There was no reason to resign; in fact I think you can win his knight with some creativity.  Rc1, Qb2, Nc4, and the knight will be yours if I am not mistaken??

jonnin

Nevermind, Rc1 leads to a family fork, duh.

With that issue, you had no outstanding moves that I could find, and face an uphill struggle for sure.  Maybe not quite resign material but best I have after that is Re1, and really you need black to make a mistake soon.

kamuimaru

A... a family fork?

KvothDuval

Re1 looks better

chesswasteland

I wouldn't resign here. I'd play Rde1. the e7 square is weak. Black has weak dark squares around his king. I'd try to play moves like Re3, push my h pawn move the rook to the h-file and checkmate his ass.

jonnin
kamuimaru wrote:

A... a family fork?

yea it gets the king & queen and rook.  Forking 3+ pieces is a family fork, I think, its been a while on the exact term.

Here is the wikipedia comment on the names for exotic forks: