Can I change my move before pressing the clock?

Sort:
vusirikala

Touch move rule states that I need to move the piece once I touch it. But once I make a move (released the piece on a square), can I change the move (by moving the same piece to a different square) before pressing the clock?

omnipaul

Once you release your hand from the piece, you are no longer allowed to change your move (unless you have made an illegal move, then you are required to make a different move after your clock has been penalized).  If you don't hit your clock immediately after releasing the piece, then you're just wasting your time.

Pulpofeira

Or unless your name is Kasparov.