How can pinned pieces still offer protection for other pieces?

Sort:
Shadow_Karambit

This is what I mean. Since the bishop is pinned, technically the king should be able to capture the queen because the bishop is pinned right?

eric0022

If the game allows kings to be captured, then the Black king gets captured first.

Shadow_Karambit

?... It's black's move so capturing the queen should be valid since the bishop wouldn't capture the king.

Martin_Stahl
Shadow_Karambit wrote:

?... It's black's move so capturing the queen should be valid since the bishop wouldn't capture the king.

 

Imagine kings could be taken. If you are allowed to make a move putting your king in check, so could your opponent, and they would take your king, ending the game.

 

But the rules prohibit kings from moving into check and pinned pieces still attack squares and other pieces.

Shadow_Karambit

Ah, makes sense now

Lagomorph
Shadow_Karambit wrote:

?... It's black's move so capturing the queen should be valid since the bishop wouldn't capture the king.

So you want the rule about not putting a king into check to apply to your opponent but not to you ?

FIDE, USCF rules are quite clear. You can NEVER put your own king into check.

 

Shadow_Karambit
Lagomorph wrote:
Shadow_Karambit wrote:

?... It's black's move so capturing the queen should be valid since the bishop wouldn't capture the king.

So you want the rule about not putting a king into check to apply to your opponent but not to you ?

FIDE, USCF rules are quite clear. You can NEVER put your own king into check.

 

Yeah I realized that.

Lagomorph

FIDE rules of chess:

 

3.1.3
A piece is considered to attack a square even if this piece is constrained from moving to that square because it would then leave or place the king of its own colour under attack.