Forums

I just started playing this year at the age of 30, is it too late to get good?

Sort:
sinnuz

I am 29 ...I was very upset about my age ...I have decided to beat odds and to improve .

There are 2 ways to improve after 30s  .

1 If you have lot of money and your life is set - You just need a great coach and just follow him blindless . Achieving  GM will not a issues .

2 If you don't have money and life is not set - For GM You need to met rear condition ...you have to become great coach  you're Self  , Like in game you don't play for win , just play for Good moves and stopping opponents activities ...and let win follow you .

same If you want to become GM, then don't aim for GM ... Just Aim for building strong foundation and Coach yourself  like hell best . 

Sred

@potentexd: Of course you won't become a GM. It depends what you consider "good" and it also depends on your individual talent.

azbobcat
Potentexd wrote:

I am starting chess seriously at the age of 30. I learned chess "the basics" at 10 years old. I am captivated by the game. It is going to be hard for me since I work as a nurse, I am studying my masters and I am a full-time dad. My plan is to study 2-3 book theory openings for each color, play tactics and a lot of endgames for the next year and a half. Once I am done with my masters I will dedicate 15-20 hours a week to the training I just want to see how far I can get in ELO rating, maybe one day I ll achieve a title. I want to visit STLMO chess club I'm learning with Akobian online with his YT videos so I will plan a vacation to go and meet the club.

????