Please fix this obvious error

Sort:
Avatar of Smagacki
Repeating three times any position in chess. It should immediately finish the game. It is clear rule. WHY the game is still running???!!!
Avatar of piya_is_my_name

true. we should be allowed to set that up as a premove, since those are available anyway

Avatar of wanmokewan

You have to hit the draw button the same way you have to call an arbiter to claim a draw by repetition.

Avatar of Smagacki

Thanks for your support Piya:) But in my opinion it should be done by engine, not by setting up or not. In my opinion chess rules are clear. Draw is a draw. That's all

Avatar of Smagacki

I real game yes, I agree. I have to call an arbiter. But why should I got the draw button here? I don't understand this. When I'm doing checkmate should I also hit any button??? Of course not. So why when it's draw I have to do this?

Avatar of wanmokewan

*shrug*. It's intentional or it would have been changed years ago.  I'm just telling you how to do it.

Avatar of piya_is_my_name

+1. If we're using confirmation buttons (to simulate verbal announcements), then let's use that for all actions. And, death to premoves, too! 😀

Avatar of Smagacki

Ok. Thanks for your answers. But I still think that it should be done automatically. The same like checkmate

Avatar of wanmokewan

The last thing is if you do hit the draw button and the server recognizes that there's a three fold repetition, it will end in a draw.

Avatar of Smagacki

Ok, now I know. Thanks. But please understand me... If there is the time pressure it is really difficult situation. The last seconds in the game... You have for example 3 seconds... then 2... then 1... Time is very precious in such a situations.

Avatar of Smagacki

But ok. We can't have all what we want :)

Avatar of wanmokewan

Wait, you're actually accepting this in a civil manner?  I knew people like you existed on the Internet!

Avatar of Shock_Me

It should NOT be automatic because the FIDE rule does not make it automatic. The draw is claimable but not compulsory if neither player claims the draw. (Unlike the quintuple repeat and 75 move rules). If an arbiter were watching and saw threefold repeat, she would correctly not end the game unless the draw was claimed. Since the server acts as the arbiter here, neither should the draw be automatic.

Avatar of Smagacki

At last very wise explanation. Thank you, Shock_Me:) I didn't know that in FIDE rules there is such a rule.