Please show an example of the triple repitation checkmate

Sort:
Avatar of kkkknnnnmmmm

Undecided

Avatar of ThomasJEvans

I think you mean 'threefold repetition', which is a draw.

Avatar of kkkknnnnmmmm

Thank you very very much!

Avatar of XDave121X

Isn't it a draw already after 4...Kg8 ?

Since before a move was made there was already a position


Lets say black's move before the initial position ( sort of a premove ) is

0...Rf8 ( only possible last move for black )

So After

0...Rf8

2...Kg8

4...Kg8

A position already appeared thrice so couldn't you already claim the draw after 4...Kg8?

Avatar of Adhache

It's the three fold repetition rule, and it's not a checkmate.

Avatar of kkkknnnnmmmm

Sorry, I was in hurry and instead of writing draw I wrote checkmate

Avatar of XDave121X

Guys my question above seriously....

Avatar of ThomasJEvans
XDave121X wrote:

Isn't it a draw already after 4...Kg8 ?

Since before a move was made there was already a position


Lets say black's move before the initial position ( sort of a premove ) is

0...Rf8 ( only possible last move for black )

So After

0...Rf8

2...Kg8

4...Kg8

A position already appeared thrice so couldn't you already claim the draw after 4...Kg8?

Yes indeed; I missed that.

 

So, can the draw be claimed even after moves have been made that break the repetition (e.g. the capture of pieces)? So, if white massively messed up and lost all but his king and black still has this rook (and maybe even his pawn to promote), he could claim the draw even though black can force checkmate? I'm unsure of this.

Avatar of EvgeniyZh

No, according to FIDE rules you must claim a draw while position which is currently on the board(or will be after your move) is repeated at least 3 times including possible moves - castling and en passante