Forums

Strelka 5.5 wins 2014 World Chess Engines Knockout Tourney (informal)

Sort:
supersharp77

World Champion chess engine Strelka 5.5 congratulations!  Prior to this tournament I had run numerous Swiss style,gauntlet style and "knockout format tourneys on both Arena and on the Fritz GUI........I started learning on the Fritz GUI due to the easier tourney management and letting the computer handle the heavy lifting (pairings) round by round......literally thousands of chess engines from around the world have been downloaded and then played in engine vs engine matches......the goal at first was to determine how strong my favorite chess engines/programs (Junior 7, Chessmaster 10 chessmaster 6000 Fritz 6 Fritz 5.32 Toga II Spike 1.2 Gandalf 6 Chesspartner Deep Shredder 10 would fare when matched against the Star chess programs of the current day (Houdini, Robbolito, Ivanhoe, Gull, Hiarcs, Fritz 13, Stockfish,Komodo,Fire, Naum, Rybka etc) In order to find out it became clear that I would have to test almostall of the engines becasue of all the claims and misinformation floating around on the internet.  I read alot online and viewed other site test results and ratings of the programs but was not in agreement with many of their findings....does 1000 games at 1min per game truly gauge the strength of a chess engine? Does a tourney with only 5 or ten engines entered really mean anything? hat opening book are they using? whats the best time control? When to cut off the opening books? I found that there would be two types of tourneys I would use.......Swiss system to come up with a rating (performance rating) just like regular players use......then once I had a rough rating for most/all of the engines I could then set up knockout tournament and find out which programs were the strongest head to head.......My first manually  run tournament using arena was run 4-5years ago and I used 32 engines.....in the final Crafty 23.5 defeated Rebel Pro Deo 1.2 (quite a surprising fina