Drawn by repetition???

Sort:
Avatar of Lagomorph
Ezzychess wrote:

Ok the drawn by repetition has changed and it's absurd......it's literally 3 repetition and it doesn't matter who commits them......your opp. can do 2 and you can do 1 and it's instant drawn.....something that's done once by you can result in a drawn by repetition obviously stupid......you can see this in effect in my most recent drawn bullet game.

 

https://www.chess.com/live/game/3868707792

It has changed in that it is automatic now, but other than that the rules is the same.

 

Board position repeated three times and it is a draw. Just like your game you linked to.

Avatar of Ezzychess

that's an option to claim the draw....why it's instant changes the rule

Avatar of DjVortex

IIRC in Fide rules, in human tournaments, the referee can declare a game draw (regardless of what the players want) after 5 repetitions. Maybe that should be implemented here as well?

Avatar of newtothischessabc

that seems correct to me, the exact same position occurred on the board three times, afik it doesn't have to be back to back moves it doesn't matter who moved what pieces just that all the pieces are in exactly the same place 3 times , however I read that someone has to declare a draw and this is where I agree , automatically drawing a game is wrong , could there be a prompt ?, should players realise and if not then too bad?, in otb chess a player has to declare a draw and I see no reason it should change online. g that gives me great enjoyment whenever I feel the desire to

Avatar of newtothischessabc

chess.com gives me great enjoyment........

Avatar of Ezzychess

yea 5 repetition but the fact that you do 1 repetitive move and it can instant draw is absurd.....why this isn't obvious is baffling.

Avatar of jdcannon

But that game has 3 repetitions. The same positions is reached after black 42 44  and 46th moves. 

Avatar of Ezzychess

why is this rule in chess not 4 instead of 3.....srlsy 1 move by you 2 moves by your opp and force draw......chess is imperfect......but the rule also state a draw at this point can be declared.....however it's instant on here further compounding the flaw.....clearly whoever thought of this rule didn't have bullet in mind.

Avatar of Lagomorph
Ezzychess wrote:

yea 5 repetition but the fact that you do 1 repetitive move and it can instant draw is absurd.....why this isn't obvious is baffling.

You are misunderstanding the rule.

3 fold rep can only occur after THREE repetitions. The clue is in the name happy.png

Avatar of Lagomorph
Ezzychess wrote:

why is this rule in chess not 4 instead of 3.....srlsy 1 move by you 2 moves by your opp and force draw......chess is imperfect......but the rule also state a draw at this point can be declared.....however it's instant on here further compounding the flaw.....clearly whoever thought of this rule didn't have bullet in mind.

The rule is straightforward. If the same POSITION (not moves) appears three times the result is a draw.

 

I don't know what is so confusing about this ?

 

Avatar of Ezzychess

I think you're confusing it lol.....I was responding to someone with that post.....clearly if you read what I said there's no confusion but there are points made about such controversial thing.....have you even read everything and gotten the points made? 

Avatar of Lagomorph
Ezzychess wrote:

I think you're confusing it lol.....I was responding to someone with that post.....clearly if you read what I said there's no confusion but there are points made about such controversial thing.....have you even read everything and gotten the points made? 

I have read all the posts in this thread...mostly from you.

You clearly do not understand the rule

Avatar of Lagomorph
Ezzychess wrote:

.it's literally 3 repetition and it doesn't matter who commits them......your opp. can do 2 and you can do 1 and it's instant drawn

 

This comment from your original post shows you do not understand the rule.

If the same position appears three times it is a draw. What is so difficult to understand ?

Avatar of Ezzychess

it would be foolish of me to entertain convo with you lol bye

Avatar of Lagomorph
Ezzychess wrote:

it would be foolish of me to entertain convo with you lol bye

It would be more grown up to admit you are wrong and argumentative. But hey this is the internet.

Avatar of Ezzychess

I'm sure you don't even know why I said you're confused lol maybe someone can explain it to you lmao.

Avatar of Lagomorph
Ezzychess wrote:

it's literally 3 repetition and it doesn't matter who commits them......your opp. can do 2 and you can do 1 and it's instant drawn

Maybe I would be less "confused" if you could explain in plain English what this means ?

Avatar of DjVortex
Ezzychess wrote:

I'm sure you don't even know why I said you're confused lol maybe someone can explain it to you lmao.

You can easily prove him wrong by explaining, in detail, how the threefold repetition rule works.

(Incidentally, the rule is actually more complex than most players know.)

Avatar of ZappiestTom

you missed mate in that game. also all 3 repetitions are kinda your fault

Avatar of Ezzychess

you missed your brain at the door. happy.png why would I use 3 seconds to try and mate him when he only has cple sec left..... it's something you'll understand once you're above 1000 in bullet kiddo.