Naroditsky Secures 5th Bullet Brawl Title
Naroditsky's score of 288 was unbeaten on Saturday. Photo: Maria Emelianova/

Naroditsky Secures 5th Bullet Brawl Title

| 25 | Chess Event Coverage

GM Daniel Naroditsky was crowned as the winner of September's last Bullet Brawl after amassing a score of 288, 54 points ahead of the second-placed GM Hikaru Nakamura and third-placed GM Pranav Venkatesh. The total of 78 wins, three draws, and six losses was enough for the energetic commentator to claim $400, his fifth title, and his rightful spot in second place on the all-time leaderboard.

The $100 prize for the top-scoring female was won by a new winner—IM Tatjana Vasilevich, who finished 32nd overall, while the community event was topped by user "GrandMalakidis."

The next edition of Bullet Brawl will take place on Saturday, October 7, 2023, at 1 p.m. ET/19:00 CEST.

How to review games?
The games from September's fifth Bullet Brawl can be found here.

One of the general requisites for success in Bullet Brawl is producing a reasonable score against the 10-time victor Nakamura. On Saturday, Naroditsky procured a par score of 1.5/3 against the often indomitable speed demon.

Naroditsky recovered well after losing his first game to Nakamura. Image:

His sole win over Nakamura sprouted from the Jobava London System, a setup that Naroditsky has used to quickly topple GM-level opponents in recent editions of Bullet Brawl.

Compared to Nakamura and Pranav, Naroditsky also managed to complete more games—87 games to their 80 and 78 respectively. The reason for this is fairly straightforward: Naroditsky was able to win many of his games in less than 20 moves and when they did take longer, the American GM often found himself with plenty of time spare on the clock.

See if you can find the tactics in the positions below that helped Naroditsky win efficiently. 

Though the next puzzle does not result in significant material gain or a checkmate, it is an important intermezzo that gave Naroditsky an edge.

September's fifth edition of Bullet Brawl also saw the emergence of a star of the future, the 16-year-old Indian GM Pranav. For his efforts in the event, the champion of the 2022 Challengers Chess Tour won $150 and showcased his uncompromising style in a 16-move miniature against IM Karina Ambartsumova.

With its 20th edition looming, Bullet Brawl has still seen just five unique winners, thanks to Nakamura's and Naroditsky's consistent domination. Growing in popularity among titled players each week, though, it is only a matter of time until a new winner emerges to claim the lion's share of the $1,000 prize fund.

The exclusive group of Bullet Brawl winners. Image:


Rank Fed Title Name Username Rating Score
1 GM Daniel Naroditsky DanielNaroditsky 3288 288
2 GM Hikaru Nakamura Hikaru 3278 234
3 GM Pranav Venkatesh vi_pranav 3060 209
4 GM Oleksandr Bortnyk Oleksandr_Bortnyk 3170 194
5 GM Jose Martinez Jospem 3089 191
6 GM Andrew Tang penguingm1 3101 167
7 GM Dmitry Andreikin FairChess_on_YouTube 3009 153
8 GM S.L. Naryanan IndianLad 2993 151
9 IM Matvey Galchenko MatthewG-p4p 3013 148
10 FM Arthur De Winter CrazyAdvenTures 2859 135
11 GM David Paravyan dropstoneDP 3034 135
12 GM Andrew Hong SpeedofLight10 2837 131
13 GM Leon Livaic Elsa167 2897 129
14 GM Sergei Zhigalko Zhigalko_Sergei 3034 126
15 IM Kacper Drozdowski Kacparov 2906 123
16 GM Vasif Durarbayli Durarbayli 2874 117
17 GM sumopork 2854 115
18 FM Petros Trimitzios TrimitziosP7 2927 113
19 CM Eqor Baskakov stollenmonster 2814 111
20 GM Eric Hansen hansen 2882 110

Bullet Brawl is an exciting new titled arena that features's top bullet specialists and now takes place weekly on Saturdays. The format is a two-hour arena with a 1+0 time control; the prize fund is $1,000.

Much like Titled Tuesday and Arena Kings, Bullet Brawl often features top GMs, including Hikaru Nakamura, Daniel Naroditsky, Andrew Tang, Tuan Minh Le, and many more!

Previous coverage:

More from FM JackRodgers
Nakamura Puts On Tactical Masterclass To Win 14th Bullet Brawl Title

Nakamura Puts On Tactical Masterclass To Win 14th Bullet Brawl Title

Szymanski Wins's 35,000 Player Daily Championship

Szymanski Wins's 35,000 Player Daily Championship