India, Poland, Russia, U.S. In Saturday's Online Olympiad Semifinals
Azerbaijan lost to Poland in the armageddon.

India, Poland, Russia, U.S. In Saturday's Online Olympiad Semifinals

PeterDoggers
PeterDoggers
|
56 | Chess Event Coverage

India, Poland, Russia, and the United States qualified for the FIDE Online Olympiad's semifinals that are played on Saturday. Armenia defaulted their second match with India after a conflict over a disconnect.

How to watch?
The games of the FIDE Online Olympiad can be found here as part of our live events platform. The playoffs are played August 27-30 with expert commentary on Chess.com/TV.
Schedule Saturday, August 29:

India-Poland
Round 1, 09:00 UTC = 2 a.m. Pacific / 11:00 Central Europe
Round 2, 10:00 UTC = 3 a.m. Pacific / 12:00 Central Europe
Russia-U.S.
Round 1, 16:00 UTC = 9 a.m. Pacific / 18:00 Central Europe
Round 2, 17:00 UTC = 10 a.m. Pacific / 19:00 Central Europe

Armenia-India: 0-2 (2.5-9.5)

Bo. 1   India Rtg 3½:2½ 2   Armenia Rtg
1.1 GM Anand, Viswanathan 2751 ½ - ½ GM Aronian, Levon 2778
1.2 GM Vidit, Santosh Gujrathi 2636 1 - 0 GM Sargissian, Gabriel 2693
1.3 GM Koneru, Humpy 2483 0 - 1 GM Danielian, Elina 2358
1.4 GM Harika, Dronavalli 2450 1 - 0 IM Mkrtchian, Lilit 2306
1.5 GM Nihal, Sarin 2418 1 - 0 GM Martirosyan, Haik M. 2278
1.6 WIM Vantika, Agrawal 1729 0 - 1 WGM Sargsyan, Anna M. 2304
Bo. 2   Armenia Rtg 0 : 6 1   India Rtg
1.1 GM Aronian, Levon 2778 - - + GM Anand, Viswanathan 2751
1.2 GM Sargissian, Gabriel 2693 - - + GM Vidit, Santosh Gujrathi 2636
1.3 GM Danielian, Elina 2358 - - + GM Koneru, Humpy 2483
1.4 IM Mkrtchian, Lilit 2306 - - + GM Harika, Dronavalli 2450
1.5 GM Martirosyan, Haik M. 2278 - - + GM Praggnanandhaa, R 1781
1.6 WGM Sargsyan, Anna M. 2304 - - + WIM Vantika, Agrawal 1729

The first match of the day sadly wasn't decided on the digital chessboards. After a conflict over a disconnection, Armenia declined to play the second match, which made India the first team to reach the semifinals.

What happened is that GM Haik Martirosyan lost his game with GM Nihal Sarin due to a disconnect in what was a drawn position. (Black needed to be a bit careful, though; in the final position he would have lost if he hadn't overprotected his e6-pawn.) With India scoring 3.5-2.5, this loss was a crucial one.

The game was declared lost for Armenia, who then protested that decision based on the fact that Martirosyan hadn't lost his connection to the Zoom call. Chess.com technicians immediately checked server logs and other information but could not find any issues.

Armenia's appeal was rejected by the appeals committee, formed by the FIDE President Arkady Dvorkovich, Michael Khodarkovsky, and Sava Stoisavljevic. The verdict (here in PDF) states that

"(...) the evidence of the site's guilt must be direct and prove the guilt beyond any doubt. No other reliable evidence of problems on the game server was presented to the Appeals Committee, in addition to the general conclusion provided by the Armenian team."

In other words, a continuously running Zoom connection doesn't provide enough proof that the reason for the disconnect was caused by the Chess.com server. The Lichess platform pointed this out as well on Twitter:

Not satisfied with this decision, Armenia then refused to play the second match, defaulted, and lost 6-0.

Azerbaijan-Poland* 1-1 (6.5-6.5)

Bo. 1   Azerbaijan Rtg 2 : 4 2   Poland Rtg
1.1 GM Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar 2761 0 - 1 GM Duda, Jan-Krzysztof 2774
1.2 GM Mamedov, Rauf 2691 0 - 1 GM Wojtaszek, Radoslaw 2662
1.3 IM Mammadzada, Gunay 2280 ½ - ½ GM Socko, Monika 2321
1.4 IM Mammadova, Gulnar 2400 0 - 1 IM Cyfka, Karina 2330
1.5 GM Asadli, Vugar 2309 ½ - ½ IM Gumularz, Szymon 2277
1.6 WGM Balajayeva, Khanim 2093 1 - 0 WIM Sliwicka, Alicja 2059
Bo. 2   Poland Rtg 1½:4½ 1   Azerbaijan Rtg
1.1 GM Duda, Jan-Krzysztof 2774 ½ - ½ GM Radjabov, Teimour 2758
1.2 GM Wojtaszek, Radoslaw 2662 0 - 1 GM Mamedov, Rauf 2691
1.3 GM Socko, Monika 2321 0 - 1 IM Mammadzada, Gunay 2280
1.4 IM Cyfka, Karina 2330 0 - 1 WGM Fataliyeva, Ulviyya 2310
1.5 IM Gumularz, Szymon 2277 0 - 1 GM Asadli, Vugar 2309
1.6 WIM Sliwicka, Alicja 2059 1 - 0 WGM Balajayeva, Khanim 2093

More drama was seen in the Azerbaijan-Poland match, but this time on the chessboard. Both countries won one match, so an armageddon game was needed to break the tie. The random toss led to the game being played on the top women's board this time, where IM Gunay Mammadzada had just beaten GM Monika Socko.

In the armageddon game, Mammadzada was in full control all the time and very close to holding the draw as Black, but, despite having 13 seconds vs. eight for her opponent, she missed a knight check twice and then had her king stuck in a mating net.

Hungary-Russia 0-2 (4-8)

Bo. 1   Russia Rtg 5 : 1 2   Hungary Rtg
1.1 GM Nepomniachtchi, Ian 2778 1 - 0 GM Erdos, Viktor 2580
1.2 GM Dubov, Daniil 2770 ½ - ½ GM Gledura, Benjamin 2619
1.3 GM Goryachkina, Aleksandra 2502 1 - 0 GM Hoang, Thanh Trang 2338
1.4 GM Kosteniuk, Alexandra 2517 1 - 0 IM Gara, Anita 2279
1.5 GM Esipenko, Andrey 2629 ½ - ½ GM Kozak, Adam 2438
1.6 WGM Shuvalova, Polina 2379 1 - 0 WFM Gaal, Zsoka 1816
Bo. 2   Hungary Rtg 3 : 3 1   Russia Rtg
1.1 GM Banusz, Tamas 2614 0 - 1 GM Nepomniachtchi, Ian 2778
1.2 GM Gledura, Benjamin 2619 ½ - ½ GM Artemiev, Vladislav 2769
1.3 WGM Papp, Petra 2297 1 - 0 GM Lagno, Kateryna 2521
1.4 WGM Gara, Ticia 2274 1 - 0 GM Gunina, Valentina 2427
1.5 GM Kozak, Adam 2438 ½ - ½ GM Sarana, Alexey 2618
1.6 WFM Demeter, Dorina 1885 0 - 1 WGM Shuvalova, Polina 2379

Russia started with a crushing 5-1 win vs. Hungary, but things got unexpectedly close in the return match. Hungary can be satisfied with their result, and leaving the tournament with a 3-3 against this team is something to be proud of.

GM Ian Nepomniachtchi won a nice game in the first round. Although he was winning quite early in the game, he found some pretty moves to finish it.

Ukraine-U.S. 0-2 (3.5-8.5)

Bo. 1   United States Rtg 4½:1½ 2   Ukraine Rtg
1.1 GM So, Wesley 2741 1 - 0 GM Ivanchuk, Vasyl 2686
1.2 GM Shankland, Sam 2609 ½ - ½ GM Korobov, Anton 2794
1.3 IM Yip, Carissa 2421 1 - 0 IM Osmak, Iulija 2356
1.4 IM Zatonskih, Anna 2327 ½ - ½ GM Zhukova, Natalia 2312
1.5 GM Xiong, Jeffery 2730 ½ - ½ GM Shevchenko, Kirill 2425
1.6 IM Wang, Annie 2384 1 - 0 FM Berdnyk, Mariia 2169
Bo. 2   Ukraine Rtg 2 : 4 1   United States Rtg
1.1 GM Korobov, Anton 2794 0 - 1 GM So, Wesley 2741
1.2 GM Shtembuliak, Evgeny 2444 0 - 1 GM Shankland, Sam 2609
1.3 IM Osmak, Iulija 2356 ½ - ½ IM Zatonskih, Anna 2327
1.4 IM Gaponenko, Inna 2375 1 - 0 WGM Abrahamyan, Tatev 2358
1.5 GM Shevchenko, Kirill 2425 ½ - ½ GM Xiong, Jeffery 2730
1.6 WIM Shpanko, Nadiia 2069 0 - 1 IM Wang, Annie 2384

It was the U.S. that scored the most convincing victory, with 4.5-1.5 and 4-2 scores against Ukraine. From the first match, let's look at the highly interesting draw between GMs Anton Korobov and Sam Shankland.

Sam Shankland chess
With 30...Nf4! Shankland could have played a true masterpiece. Photo: Mike Klein/Chess.com.

Quarterfinals round | All games


The FIDE Online Olympiad is a major online chess event for national teams that runs July 25-August 30 on the Chess.com server. More than 1,500 participants and 163 teams from all over the world are playing.

Each team consists of six players, including at least two women, at least one player who is 20 or younger, and at least one female player who is 20 or younger. The time control for all matches is 15 minutes for the game and a five-second increment per move, starting from move one.


Related articles:

More from PeterDoggers
Saint Louis Arch Bishops, Armenia Eagles To Play PRO Chess League Final

Saint Louis Arch Bishops, Armenia Eagles To Play PRO Chess League Final

Today: PRO Chess League Finals

Today: PRO Chess League Finals