News
Armenia, Hungary, Poland, Ukraine Enter Friday's Online Olympiad Quarterfinals
The decisive moment in the China-Ukraine match.

Armenia, Hungary, Poland, Ukraine Enter Friday's Online Olympiad Quarterfinals

PeterDoggers
|
24 | Chess Event Coverage

Armenia, Hungary, Poland, and Ukraine won their matches in Thursday's preliminary round of the FIDE Online Olympiad's playoff. The biggest upset was the elimination of China by Ukraine.

How to watch?
The games of the FIDE Online Olympiad can be found here as part of our live events platform. The playoffs are played August 27-30 with expert commentary on Chess.com/TV starting at 1 a.m. Pacific / 10:00 a.m. Central Europe.
Schedule Friday, August 28:

India-Armenia
Round 1, 11:00 UTC = 4 a.m. Pacific / 13:00 Central Europe
Round 2, 12:00 UTC = 5 a.m. Pacific / 14:00 Central Europe
Russia-Hungary
Round 1, 14:00 UTC = 7 a.m. Pacific / 16:00 Central Europe
Round 2, 15:00 UTC = 8 a.m. Pacific / 17:00 Central Europe
Azerbaijan-Poland
Round 1, 16:00 UTC = 9 a.m. Pacific / 18:00 Central Europe
Round 2, 17:00 UTC = 10 a.m. Pacific / 19:00 Central Europe
U.S.-Ukraine
Round 1, 16:00 UTC = 9 a.m. Pacific / 18:00 Central Europe
Round 2, 17:00 UTC = 10 a.m. Pacific / 19:00 Central Europe

China-Ukraine: 1-1 (6-7)

Bo. China Rtg 3 : 3 Ukraine Rtg
1.1 GM Ding, Liren 2836 1 - 0 GM Ivanchuk, Vasyl 2686
1.2 GM Wei, Yi 2752 ½ - ½ GM Korobov, Anton 2794
1.3 GM Hou, Yifan 2621 1 - 0 IM Gaponenko, Inna 2375
1.4 GM Ju, Wenjun 2610 ½ - ½ GM Zhukova, Natalia 2312
1.5 GM Liu, Yan 2427 0 - 1 GM Shevchenko, Kirill 2425
1.6 WIM Ning, Kaiyu 1884 0 - 1 FM Berdnyk, Mariia 2169
Bo. Ukraine Rtg 3 : 3 China Rtg
1.1 GM Ivanchuk, Vasyl 2686 ½ - ½ GM Ding, Liren 2836
1.2 GM Korobov, Anton 2794 ½ - ½ GM Yu, Yangyi 2738
1.3 IM Osmak, Iulija 2356 1 - 0 GM Tan, Zhongyi 2501
1.4 IM Gaponenko, Inna 2375 ½ - ½ GM Lei, Tingjie 2527
1.5 GM Shevchenko, Kirill 2425 ½ - ½ GM Liu, Yan 2427
1.6 FM Berdnyk, Mariia 2169 0 - 1 WGM Zhu, Jiner 2326

As the reigning champions of the official Olympiad (in both the open and women sections) and the Online Nations Cup, China seemed to be the clear favorite for the Online Olympiad as well. Their elimination just before the quarterfinals definitely came as a surprise.

The teams played 3-3 in both of their matches with China doing better on the top boards and Ukraine winning on the U20 junior and girls boards. At the same time, it was surprising that both GMs Hou Yifan and Ju Wenjun, who played in the first match, were left out in the second.

That wouldn't have matted if GM Tan Zhongyi had seen the tactic in the opening in her game against IM Iulija Osmak in round two (although Ukraine missed chances as well):

With 3-3 in both matches, one single armageddon (five vs. four minutes, no increment) had to be played as a tiebreaker. But who would play?

The regulations state that a drawing of lots determines which one of the four categories the armageddon game is to be played: open, women, U20 or girls U20. The captain of each team then nominates a player from the respective category.

In this case, the game was played on the U20 board between GMs Kirill Shevchenko and Liu Yan. The final phase of the game was unfortunate because White didn't seem to be doing much for many moves and could have given the impression that he was mostly trying to flag his opponent.

However, all this is part of online play and at the very end, Shevchenko did make some progress (and even could have taken a full piece) just before Liu flagged.

From the moment the tournament was announced, it has been debated whether the U20 and girls U20 boards are good ideas. GM Peter Heine Nielsen prefers countries to come with their strongest players. GM Ivan Sokolov pointed out that in this particular case, when looking at all games, Ukraine won deservedly.

Germany-Hungary: 1-1 (6-7)

Bo. Hungary Rtg 3½:2½ Germany Rtg
1.1 GM Erdos, Viktor 2580 ½ - ½ GM Wagner, Dennis 2454
1.2 GM Banusz, Tamas 2614 ½ - ½ GM Fridman, Daniel 2610
1.3 WGM Papp, Petra 2297 0 - 1 IM Paehtz, Elisabeth 2369
1.4 WGM Gara, Ticia 2274 1 - 0 FM Schulze, Lara 2125
1.5 GM Kozak, Adam 2438 1 - 0 IM Vogel, Roven 2506
1.6 WFM Demeter, Dorina 1885 ½ - ½ WIM Muetsch, Annmarie 2188
Bo. Germany Rtg 3½:2½ Hungary Rtg
1.1 GM Wagner, Dennis 2454 1 - 0 GM Erdos, Viktor 2580
1.2 GM Fridman, Daniel 2610 ½ - ½ GM Banusz, Tamas 2614
1.3 IM Paehtz, Elisabeth 2369 1 - 0 GM Hoang, Thanh Trang 2338
1.4 FM Schulze, Lara 2125 0 - 1 WGM Papp, Petra 2297
1.5 IM Vogel, Roven 2506 0 - 1 GM Kozak, Adam 2438
1.6 WIM Muetsch, Annmarie 2188 1 - 0 WFM Gaal, Zsoka 1816

Another armageddon was seen in the clash between Germany and Hungary. Here, Hungary started with a 3.5-2.5 win, but then Germany leveled the score with the same figures.

This time, the armageddon game was played in the open category between GMs Tamas Banusz and Dennis Wagner. As both players got into huge time trouble, the game saw a dramatic finish:

Armenia-Greece: 2-0 (8-4)

Bo. Greece Rtg 1½:4½ Armenia Rtg
1.1 GM Mastrovasilis, Dimitrios 2534 0 - 1 GM Aronian, Levon 2778
1.2 GM Halkias, Stelios 2576 0 - 1 GM Sargissian, Gabriel 2693
1.3 IM Tsolakidou, Stavroula 2302 1 - 0 GM Danielian, Elina 2358
1.4 WGM Botsari, Anna-Maria 2222 0 - 1 IM Mkrtchian, Lilit 2306
1.5 IM Theodorou, Nikolas 2559 ½ - ½ GM Martirosyan, Haik M. 2278
1.6 FM Avramidou, Anastasia 2052 0 - 1 WGM Sargsyan, Anna M. 2304
Bo. Armenia Rtg 3½:2½ Greece Rtg
1.1 GM Aronian, Levon 2778 1 - 0 GM Banikas, Hristos 2615
1.2 GM Sargissian, Gabriel 2693 ½ - ½ GM Halkias, Stelios 2576
1.3 GM Danielian, Elina 2358 0 - 1 IM Tsolakidou, Stavroula 2302
1.4 IM Mkrtchian, Lilit 2306 ½ - ½ WGM Botsari, Anna-Maria 2222
1.5 GM Martirosyan, Haik M. 2278 ½ - ½ IM Theodorou, Nikolas 2559
1.6 WGM Sargsyan, Anna M. 2304 1 - 0 FM Avramidou, Anastasia 2052

No armageddons were in the other two matches. Armenia defeated Greece twice, first by 4.5-1.5 and then by 3.5-2.5. Their top board, GM Levon Aronian, scored two wins; the first one is the following.

Bulgaria-Poland: 0-2 (4.5-7.5)

Bo. Bulgaria Rtg 2½:3½ Poland Rtg
1.1 GM Delchev, Aleksander 2630 0 - 1 GM Duda, Jan-Krzysztof 2774
1.2 GM Enchev, Ivajlo 2484 0 - 1 GM Wojtaszek, Radoslaw 2662
1.3 GM Stefanova, Antoaneta 2461 1 - 0 GM Socko, Monika 2321
1.4 IM Salimova, Nurgyul 2085 1 - 0 IM Cyfka, Karina 2330
1.5 IM Petrov, Martin 2393 0 - 1 IM Gumularz, Szymon 2277
1.6 WIM Radeva, Viktoria 2052 ½ - ½ WIM Sliwicka, Alicja 2059
Bo. Poland Rtg 4 : 2 Bulgaria Rtg
1.1 GM Duda, Jan-Krzysztof 2774 1 - 0 GM Delchev, Aleksander 2630
1.2 GM Wojtaszek, Radoslaw 2662 1 - 0 GM Enchev, Ivajlo 2484
1.3 GM Socko, Monika 2321 1 - 0 GM Stefanova, Antoaneta 2461
1.4 IM Cyfka, Karina 2330 0 - 1 IM Salimova, Nurgyul 2085
1.5 IM Gumularz, Szymon 2277 1 - 0 IM Petrov, Martin 2393
1.6 WIM Sliwicka, Alicja 2059 0 - 1 WIM Radeva, Viktoria 2052

Poland also won both matches. beating Bulgaria 3.5-2.5 and 4-2. Top boards GM Jan-Krzysztof Duda and Radoslaw Wojtaszek both scored 2-0. Here's Duda's second win:

Jan-Krzysztof Duda
Jan-Krzysztof Duda. Photo: Maria Emelianova/Chess.com.

Preliminary round | All games


The FIDE Online Olympiad is a major online chess event for national teams that runs July 25-August 30 on the Chess.com server. More than 1,500 participants and 163 teams from all over the world are playing.

Each team consists of six players, including at least two women, at least one player who is 20 or younger, and at least one female player who is 20 or younger. The time control for all matches is 15 minutes for the game and a five-second increment per move, starting from move one.


Related articles:

More from PeterDoggers
Niemann Clinches U.S. Junior Championship; Wang Wins Girls' Title

Niemann Clinches U.S. Junior Championship; Wang Wins Girls' Title

Kosteniuk, Martirosyan Only Winners On Peaceful Day At FIDE World Cup

Kosteniuk, Martirosyan Only Winners On Peaceful Day At FIDE World Cup