GM Levon Aronian

Vollständiger Name
Levon Aronian
Geboren
Oct 6, 1982 (Alter 37)‎
Geburtsort
Jerewan, UdSSR (heute: Armenien)
Föderation
Armenien
Profile

Rating

Bio

Levon Aronian ist ein armenischer Supergroßmeister, der seit langem zu den besten Spielern der Welt gehört. Er stieg 2005 zum ersten Mal in die Top 20 auf und hat sie seitdem nicht verlassen. Die meisten dieser 15 Jahre hat in den Top 10 der Welt verbracht.

Aronian war in den letzten Jahren ein Paradebeispiel für beständiges Schachspiel auf höchstem Niveau. Dabei hat seine Konstanz aber seine Erfolge nicht überschattet. In der ersten Hälfte der 2010er Jahre - von November 2010 bis September 2014 - war er unter den Top 3 der Welt. Im März 2014 erreichte sein Rating einen Höchststand von 2830. Damit war Aronian der am vierthöchsten bewertete Spieler der Geschichte - nur Magnus Carlsen, Garry Kasparov and Fabiano Caruana haben ein höheres Rating erreicht.

Aronians Lebenslauf beinhaltet auch die Weltmeistertitel im Blitz- und Schnellschach, sowie im Schach960. Dazu kommen mehrere Goldmedaillen für die armenische Nationalmannschaft; ein individueller armenischer Meistertitel; zwei Siege im Weltcup und vieles mehr. Dabei hat der armenische Nationalheld noch ein paar Jahre zu seinem 40. Geburtstag, was bedeutet, dass er seinem Erbe, das das Spiel bereichert hat, noch einiges mehr hinzufügen könnte.

Die Anfänge seiner Karriere (1991 bis 2001)

Aronian lernte mit neun Jahren Schach. Seine Schwester brachte ihm die Grundlagen bei und durch das frühe Training mit GM Melikset Khachiyan wurde Aronian schnell zu einem starken Schachspieler.

1994 gewann Aronian die U12-Weltmeisterschaft mit 8 von 9 möglichen Punkten. Dabei ließ er mehrere zukünftige Top-10-Spieler wie Ruslan Ponomariov, Alexander Grischuk, Etienne Bacrot und den fünfmaligen spanischen Meister GM Francisco Vallejo Pons hinter sich. Im Jahr 2000 wurde Aronian zum Großmeister ernannt. Bei der Junioren-Weltmeisterschaft 2001 wurde er mit 9.5 von 13 möglichen Punkten Zweiter. Denselben Platz belegte er im selben Jahr bei der Armenischen Meisterschaft.

Armenischer Meister und Aufstieg zum Super-Großmeister (2002 bis 2008)

Nur ein Jahr nach dem knapp verpassten Sieg bei der Junioren-Weltmeisterschaft und der Armenischen Meisterschaft gewann Aronian beide Titel.

Bei der Junioren-Weltmeisterschaft 2002 ließ er künftige Großmeister wie Bu Xiangzhi, Pentala Harikrishna und Luke McShane hinter sich und noch im selben Jahr sicherte er sich bei der Armenischen Meisterschaft den zweiten prestigeträchtigen Titel.

In den nächsten Jahren gelangen Aronian mehrere bemerkenswerte Erfolge. Von 2003 bis 2005 erzielte er drei Top-4-Platzierungen bei den jährlich ausgetragenen Schach-Europameisterschaften. 2004 besiegte er Carlsen in der ersten Runde der FIDE-Schachweltmeisterschaft, schied aber dann in der dritten Runde aus. 2005 gewann Aronian das Karabakh International Turnier. Mit 6 von 9 möglichen Punkten lag er vor dem achtmaligen armenischen Schachmeister Ashot Anastasian (der Zweiter wurde) und Spielern wie Hikaru Nakamura und Vassily Ivanchuck.

Ein Turnier am Ende des Jahres könnte seine bis dahin größte Leistung gewesen sein, denn Aronian gewann den Schachweltcup 2005, ohne dabei eine einzige Partie zu verlieren. Im letzten Teil des 128-Spieler Turniers besiegte er Vallejo, Mikhail Gurevich, Bacrot und Ponomariov. Die besten 10 Spieler qualifizierten sich auch für das Kandidatenturnier 2007, mit dem die Schachweltmeisterschaft 2007 eingeläutet wurde. Aronian besiegte in der ersten Runde Carlsen und Alexei Shirov in der zweiten Runde, um sich für das Weltmeisterschaftsturnier zu qualifizieren. Dort wurde er von acht Spielern siebter.

2006, also ein Jahr nach dem Gewinn des Weltcups, gewann Aronian das Elite-Turnier von Linares mit einer Leistung von 2808 und einem halben Punkt Vorsprung auf Teimour Radjabov und den amtierenden FIDE-Weltmeister Veselin Topalov. Beim Tal Memorial im selben Jahr wurde er gemeinsam mit Peter Leko und Ponomariov Erster und bei der 37. Schacholympiade führte er die Armenische Mannschaft zur ersten Goldmedaille überhaupt.

Levon Aronian in 2006 before Linares
Levon Aronian in Linares 2006. Foto: F. Friedel, CC 3.0.

Außerdem gewann Aronian 2003 auch ein Schach960 Turnier und erspielte sich damit ein Schach960 Match gegen den damaligen Weltmeister Peter Svidler, das er aber nicht gewinnen konnte. 2005 gewann er das Turnier erneut und damit erneut ein Match gegen Svidler. Diesmal konnte Aronian gewinnen und war damit Schach960 Weltmeister. Dieser Sieg verhalf ihm auch zur Auszeichnung "Sportler des Jahres" in Armenien. 2007 konnte er diesen Titel gegen Viswanathan Anand verteidigen und er verlor ihn erst 2009 an Nakamura.

2007 teilte sich Aronian beim prestigeträchtigen Corus-Turnier in Wijk aan Zee (jetzt Tata Steel) den ersten Platz mit Topalov und Radjabov. Im Jahr darauf teilte er sich den Sieg mit Carlsen. Trotz all der Turniersiege war die bemerkenswerteste Leistung wohl bei der 38. Schacholympiade 2008 zu verzeichnen. Dort führte Aronian die Armenische Mannschaft zur zweiten Goldmedaille in Folge.

Weltmeister im Blitz- und Schnellschach (2009 bis 2013)

Im April 2009 gewann Aronian das vierte Turnier des FIDE Grand Prix 2008-2010 in Nalchik, der Hauptstadt der russischen Teilrepublik Kabardino-Balkarien im Nordkaukasus. Er beendete das Turnier mit 8,5 von 13 möglichen Punkten und einem vollen Punkt Vorsprung auf Peter Leko und Vladimir Akopian und einem Teilnehmerfeld mit einer durchschnittlichen Elo von 2725. Durch diesen Sieg stand er als Sieger der Gesamtwertung des Grand Prix fest, obwohl noch ein Turnier zu spielen war, was auch die Qualifikation für das Kandidatenturnier 2012 bedeutete. Obwohl er dort als einer der Favoriten an den Start ging, verlor er in der ersten Runde gegen Grischuk.

Nachdem er im August 2009 Ian Nepomniachtchi im Finale der Weltmeisterschaft im Schnellschach mit 3:1 besiegt hatte, war Aronian auch Weltmeister im Schnellschach und in seiner Heimat Armenien wurde ihm der Titel “Honoured Master of Sport of the Republic of Armenia” verliehen.

Im Jahr darauf gewann er den nächsten Weltmeistertitel. Diesmal war es Blitzschach. Er gewann das Turnier bereits eine Runde vor Schluss vor Radjabov und Titelverteidiger Carlsen mit 24,5 von 38 möglichen Punkten.

2012 konnte Aronian seine nächsten großen Siege feiern. Das Tata Steel-Schachturnier in Wijk aan Zee gewann er mit einer Leistung von 2892 und einem Punkt Vorsprung auf Carlsen, Radjabov und Caruana. Im August und September führte er dann Armenien bei der 40. Schacholympiade zur dritten Goldmedaille. Aronian hatte die beste Leistungsbewertung (2849) aller Spieler an Brett 1.

Nachdem Aronian beim Tata Steel-Schachturnier 2013 hinter Carlsen Zweiter geworden war, konnte er mit zwei bemerkenswerten Turniersiegen diese Phase seiner Karriere abrunden. Das Alekhine Memorial 2013 Ende April gewann er vor Boris Gelfand und im Oktober gewann er das Grand Slam Chess Masters ungeschlagen und mit einem Punkt Vorsprung auf Michael Adams. Auf den Plätzen landeten Shakhyirar Mamedyarov und Maxime Vachier-Lagrave.

Das vierthöchste Rating der Geschichte (2014 bis 2019)

Das Jahr 2014 began Aronian mit einem weiteren Sieg beim Tata Steel Schachturnier. Seinen vierten Titel in Wijk aan Zee gewann er dank einer Leistung von 2911 und mit 1.5 Punkten Vorsprung auf Anish Giri und Sergey Karjakin.

Durch diese Leistung erreichte Aronian das höchste Rating seiner Karriere. Seine Elo von 2830 auf der offiziellen FIDE-Ratingliste vom März 2014 war die dritthöchste der Geschichte. Fabiano Caruana erreichte dann zwar im Oktober desselben Jahres 2844 und verdrängte Aronian damit auf Platz 4 dieser Rangliste, aber diesen Platz hält er bis heute.

Ende 2014 und bis 2015 durchlief Aronian dann eine kleine Flaute. Es begann im Oktober 2014, als er aus den Top 3 der Welt herausrutschte. Fast vier Jahre lang - von November 2010 bis September 2014 - war Aronian nicht schlechter als der Nummer drei der Welt gewesen. Trotz des Verlusts seines Status als einer der drei bestbewerteten Spieler der Welt ist Aronian aber natürlich ein Elite-Schachspieler geblieben, der gegen jeden Gegner und jedes Turnier gewinnen kann.

Anfang 2015 nahm Aronian an der Russischen Mannschaftsmeisterschaft teil und bildete mit Vladimir Kramnik das Herzstück der Sibirischen Mannschaft, welche die Meisterschaft auch gewann. Im September konnte Aronian dann seinen größten Sieg des Jahres 2015 feiern. Der gewann den Sinquefield Cup 2015 mit 6 von 9 möglichen Punkten und einem Punkt Vorsprung auf die zweitplatzierten Giri, Carlsen, Vachier-Lagrave und Nakamura. Durch diese Leistung schaffte es Aronian zurück in die Top 10.

2016 war für Aronian ein schwieriges Jahr, aber 2017 zeigte er eine bemerkenswerte Verbesserung. Im April gewann er die Grenke Chess Classics mit 1.5 Punkten Vorsprung auf Carlsen und Caruana. Im Juni gewann er das Norway Chess mit einer Leistung von 2918 und einem Punkt Vorsprung auf Carlsen, Kramnik und Karjakin. Im August gewann er das Saint Louis Rapid & Blitz mit 24.5 von 36 möglichen Punkten und sensationellen drei Punkten Vorsprung auf die zweitplatzierten Karjakin und Nakamura. Im September gewann er den Weltcup 2017 und qualifizierte sich damit für das Kandidatenturnier 2018 in Berlin, wo er dann allerdings den letzten Platz belegte. Damit war er der erste Spieler der Geschichte, der den Weltcup zweimal gewinnen konnte. Im November rundete er eines der besten Jahre seiner Karriere mit der Einzelgoldmedaille an Brett 1 bei der Mannschafts-Europameisterschaft ab (Armenien wurde Zweiter).

Im Jahr 2018 gelangen Aronian zwei beachtenswerte Erfolge. Im Jänner gewann er das Gibraltar Chess Festival vor Richard Rapport und Vachier-Lagrave und im August teilte er sich mit Carlsen und Caruana den ersten Platz beim Sinquefield Cup 2018. Nachdem die 3 Spieler in allen Feinwertungen (direkter Vergleich, Anzahl der Siege und Anzahl der Siege mit Schwarz) gleichauf lagen, einigten sich alle Beteiligten darauf, den Titel und das Preisgeld zu teilen.

Levon Aronian

Levon Aronian beim Kandidatenturnier 2018. Foto: Maria Emelianova/Chess.com.

Genau wie schon 2018 gelangen Aronian 2019 zwei beachtenswerte Erfolge. Der erste kam beim Saint Louis Rapid & Blitz Turnier zustande, das er zum zweiten Mal in Folge gewinnen konnte. Seine 22 von 36 möglichen Punkten reichten ihm, um Yu Yangyi, Ding Liren und Vachier-Lagrave auf die Plätze zu verweisen. Den zweiten großen Turniersieg konnte er beim Superbet Rapid & Blitz in Bukarest feiern. Dieses Turnier beendete er punktgleich mit Karjakin, konnte aber das Playoff um den Turniersieg gewinnen.

Gegenwart und Zukunft

Aronian ist definitiv einer der besten Schachspieler aller Zeiten. Bereits vor seinem 40. Lebensjahr hat er Siege und Titel bei Weltmeisterschaften (im Schach960, Blitz- und Schnellschach), Teamevents, Schachweltcups und mehr gesammelt. Er hat die vierthöchste Elo der Geschichte erreicht und war in der ersten Hälfte der 2010er Jahre fast vier Jahre lang in den Top 3 der Welt.

Levon Aronian at the 2018 Paris GCT
Levon Aronian in Paris 2018. Foto: Maria Emelianova/Chess.com.

Die armenische Ikone spielt bis heute Schach auf Eliteniveau. Es steht außer Frage, dass er ein Paradebeispiel für Beständigkeit ist. Schließlich gehört Aronian seit Juli 2005 ununterbrochen zu den Top 20 der Welt und ist in der Lage, jeden anderen Spieler zu schlagen. Aronian ist ebenso gefährlich wie beständig, was ihn bei allen Turnieren zu einem Titelanwärter macht.

(Glaubst Du, dass Du wie Levon Aronian spielen kannst? Versuche, seine Züge in fünf seiner besten Partien zu erraten!)

Beste Partie


Die beliebtesten Eröffnungen

Partien

GM Levon Aronian

Full name
Levon Aronian
Born
Oct 6, 1982 (age 37)‎
Place of birth
Yerevan, Armenian SSR, Soviet Union
Federation
Armenia
Profiles

Rating

Bio

Levon Aronian is an Armenian super grandmaster who has long been among the world’s best players. He first entered the top 20 in 2005 and still hasn’t lost that distinction. Most of those 15 years or so have been spent in the top 10.

Aronian has been a model for steady, elite-level chess play in recent years, but don’t let his consistency overshadow what he has accomplished so far. In the first half of the 2010s—November 2010 to September 2014—he was in the top three. In March 2014, his rating peaked at 2830. That made Aronian the fourth-highest rated player in history—only Magnus Carlsen, Garry Kasparov and Fabiano Caruana have achieved higher ratings.

Aronian’s resume also includes world championships in Fischer random chess, blitz and rapid; multiple gold team medals for the Armenian national team; an individual Armenian national title; two Chess World Cup victories and much more. The Armenian hero is a few years away from turning 40, which means that he could add quite a bit more to a legacy that has enriched the game.

Early Chess Career (1991 To 2001)

Aronian learned how to play chess when he nine years old. His sister taught him the basics, and with early coaching from GM Melikset Khachiyan, Aronian quickly became a strong chess player.

Aronian won the World Under-12 Championship in 1994 with 8/9 points. His performance put him in front of several future top-10 players in the world, including Ruslan Ponomariov, Alexander Grischuk and Etienne Bacrot, as well as future five-time Spanish Chess Champion GM Francisco Vallejo Pons. Later in 2000, Aronian became a grandmaster. Then he placed second in the 2001 World Junior Championship with 9.5/13 points. He also placed second in the Armenian Chess Championship that year.

National Champion And Rising Grandmaster (2002 To 2008)

One year after narrowly missing first place at the World Junior Championship and the Armenian Chess Championship, Aronian won both titles.

He took first place at the 2002 World Junior Championship ahead of future grandmasters such as Bu Xiangzhi, Pentala Harikrishna and Luke McShane. He also took the 2002 Armenian Chess Championship, granting the 20-year-old grandmaster two prestigious tournament victories in the same year.

Over the next few years, Aronian put together several notable performances. From 2003 to 2005, he strung together three top-four finishes in the annual European Individual Chess Championships. In 2004 he defeated Carlsen in the first round of the FIDE World Chess Championship before losing in the third round. In 2005 Aronian won the Karabakh International Tournament. His 6/9 points put him ahead of eight-time Armenian Chess Champion Ashot Anastasian (who finished second) as well as notable players such as Hikaru Nakamura and Vassily Ivanchuck.

A tournament at the end of the year may have represented his biggest accomplishment to date. Then Aronian won the Chess World Cup 2005 without losing a single game. He defeated Vallejo, Mikhail Gurevich, Bacrot and Ponomariov in the latter part of the 128-player tournament. The top-10 finishers qualified for the 2007 Candidates’ Tournament, which began with two rounds of matches before the World Chess Championship 2007. Aronian beat Carlsen in the first round and beat Alexei Shirov in the second round to qualify for the world championship tournament, where he placed seventh out of eight players.

The next year, 2006, Aronian won the elite Linares International Chess Tournament. His 8.5/13 points was half a point ahead of Teimour Radjabov and the then FIDE World Chess Champion, Veselin Topalov. Aronian finished the tournament with a performance rating of 2808. He tied for first place  with Peter Leko and Ponomariov at the inaugural Tal Memorial in 2006. At the 37th Chess Olympiad in the same year, Aronian led Armenia to its first-ever gold medal at the event.

Levon Aronian in 2006 before Linares
Levon Aronian in 2006 before Linares. Photo: F. Friedel, CC 3.0.

Aronian took part in the Finet Chess 960 (or Fischer random chess) open tournaments during this period. After winning in 2003, he earned a match against then-world champion Peter Svidler but lost. Aronian won the open tournament again in 2005, earning a rematch with Svidler. This time Aronian won, earning the Chess960 World Champion title. (In 2005, Aronian was named the best sportsman in Armenia.) He defended the title in 2007 against Viswanathan Anand and lost it in 2009 to Nakamura.

In 2007 Aronian shared first place with Topalov and Radjabov at the prestigious Corus tournament in Wijk aan Zee (now Tata Steel). He repeated in 2008 when he shared the victory with Carlsen. Among Aronian's tournament wins, a notable performance came at the 38th Chess Olympiad in 2008 when Armenia defended its title and captured a second consecutive gold medal, led once again by Aronian.

World Rapid & Blitz Champion (2009 To 2013)

In April 2009 Aronian won the fourth tournament of the 2008-2010 FIDE Grand Prix held in Nalchik, the capital city of the Kabardino-Balkar Republic, Russia. He finished with 8.5/13 points, a full point ahead of Peter Leko and Vladimir Akopian and an average field rated 2725. The win helped him in the standings of the Grand Prix, which he won with one tournament to go—that qualified him for the Candidates’ Tournament of the World Chess Championship 2012. Despite being a favorite in the Candidates’ Tournament, he lost to Grischuk in first-round tiebreakers.

Aronian won the World Rapid Chess Championship in August 2009 after defeating Ian Nepomniachtchi 3-1 in the finals of the double-round robin tournament. After taking the rapid world title, Aronian was awarded the title of “Honoured Master of Sport of the Republic of Armenia” in December 2009.

The next year, he took another world championship. This time it came in blitz chess, as he took the 2010 World Blitz Championship ahead of Radjabov and defending champion Carlsen. Aronian’s 24.5/38 points clinched the world title with a round to go.

Aronian’s next big wins came in 2012. At the prominent Tata Steel Chess Tournament in Wijk aan Zee, he won with 9/13 points, one point ahead of Carlsen, Radjabov and Caruana. Aronian finished with a tournament performance rating of 2892. Later in August and September 2012, he once again led Armenia to the gold medal at the 40th Chess Olympiad. Aronian had the best performance rating (2849) of all players on board one.

After finishing second to Carlsen in the 2013 Tata Steel Chess Tournament, Aronian had two notable wins to round out this period of his career. A favorite at the 2013 Alekhine Memorial in late April, he edged out Boris Gelfand on tiebreakers to take that tournament. In October, Aronian participated in the Grand Slam Chess Masters, a double round-robin event that also featured Michael Adams, Shakhyirar Mamedyarov and Maxime Vachier-Lagrave. Aronian went undefeated, finishing a full point ahead of Adams for the win.

Fourth-highest Rated Player In History (2014 To 2019)

Aronian began 2014 with another win at the Tata Steel Chess Tournament. His 8/11 points was more than enough for clear first, 1.5 points ahead of Anish Giri and Sergey Karjakin. Aronian had a tournament performance rating of 2911 when he captured his fourth title at Wijk aan Zee.

That performance combined with other strong play to enable Aronian to attain the highest rating of his career in March 2014. Reaching 2830 on the official FIDE rating list that month, he became the third-highest rated player in history. Fabiano reached 2844 later that year, in October, making Aronian the fourth-highest rated player in history. He holds that distinction today.

In late 2014 and into 2015, Aronian experienced a setback in his play. It started in October 2014 when he was no longer rated in the top three players in the world. For nearly four years—from November 2010 to September 2014—Aronian was no worse than the world’s number-three player. However, despite losing his status as one of the three highest-rated players in the world, Aronian has remained an elite chess player. As evidenced from the following highlights of his recent play, he’s always a threat to win at the highest level of chess.

Early in 2015, Aronian took part in the Russian Team Championship. He won the event while playing with team Siberia alongside Vladimir Kramnik. In September was Aronian’s biggest win of the year. With 6/9 points, he won the 2015 Sinquefield Cup a full point ahead of second-place finishers Giri, Carlsen, Vachier-Lagrave and Nakamura. The performance put Aronian back into the world’s top 10.

Although 2016 was a difficult year for Aronian, he showed a remarkable improvement in 2017. In April he won the Grenke Classic Tournament 1.5 points ahead of Carlsen and Caruana. In June he won the Norway Chess Tournament a full point ahead of Carlsen, Kramnik and Karjakin and had a tournament performance rating of 2918. In August he won the Saint Louis Rapid & Blitz with 24.5/36 points, which was three points over second-place finishers Karjakin and Nakamura. In September he won the Chess World Cup 2017—it qualified him for the Candidates’ Tournament 2018 (where he finished in last place)—and became the only player to win the World Cup twice. Finally, in November, he won individual gold on board one while playing for Armenia (team silver) at the 2017 European Team Chess Championship.

Aronian had two notable performances in 2018. In January he took the Gibraltar Chess Festival by beating Richard Rapport and Vachier-Lagrave on tiebreaks. In August he tied for first with Carlsen and Caruana in the 2018 Sinquefield Cup. After they were equal on three initial tiebreak regulations (mutual record, number of wins and number of wins as Black), the next tiebreak was a drawing of lots—complete chance. There was talk of a three-player playoff, but the trio decided to share the title.

Levon Aronian

Levon Aronian at the 2018 Candidates' Chess Tournament. Photo: Maria Emelianova/Chess.com.

Just like in 2018, Aronian had two notable performances in 2019. The first came at the Saint Louis Rapid & Blitz Tournament, where he won the event for the second consecutive year. His 22/36 points was half a point over Yu Yangyi, Ding Liren and Vachier-Lagrave. Aronian’s second major victory in 2019 came at the Superbet Rapid & Blitz tournament. He finished in a first-place tie with Karjakin, but Aronian won the playoff to take the event.

Present And Future

Aronian has already solidified his place as an all-time chess great. Prior to reaching 40 years of age, he has amassed wins and titles across world championships (in Fischer random chess, blitz and rapid), team events, Chess World Cup events and more. He’s the fourth-highest rated player in history. And for nearly four years of the first half of the 2010s, he remained one of the world’s three highest-ranked players.

Levon Aronian at the 2018 Paris GCT
Levon Aronian at the 2018 Paris GCT. Photo: Maria Emelianova/Chess.com.

Don’t forget those accomplishments as the Armenian icon and hero continues to play chess at an elite level. There’s no question that he’s a model of consistency—after all, Aronian has been in the world’s top 20 since entering it in July 2005—but he’s capable of beating anyone at any time. Aronian is as dangerous as he is dependable, which makes him a threat at the most prestigious chess titles and tournaments.

(Think you can play like Levon Aronian? See if you can match his moves in five of his greatest games.)

Best Game


Most Played Openings

Games