GM Levon Aronian

Nom complet
Levon Aronian
Date de naissance
Oct 6, 1982 (âge 37)‎
Lieu de naissance
Erevan, République socialiste d'Arménie, Union soviétique
Fédération
Arménie
Profils

Classement

Bio

Levon Aronian est un super grand-maître arménien qui figure depuis de longues dans l'élite mondiale. Il entre dans le top 20 en 2005 et n'a jamais quitté ce groupe très fermé depuis lors. Sur ces quinze années au plus haut niveau, il en a passé la plupart dans le top 10.

Aronian est un modèle de régularité au plus haut niveau, et son parcours est jalonné de plusieurs exploits retentissants. De novembre 2010 à septembre 2014, il ne quitte pas le top 3, obtenant son meilleur Elo (2830) en mars 2014, ce qui en fait le quatrième joueur le mieux classé de l'histoire, devancé seulement par Magnus CarlsenGarry Kasparov et Fabiano Caruana.

Son impressionnant palmarès comprend des titres mondiaux en échecs 960, en blitz et en rapide, ainsi que de nombreuses médailles aux Olympiades avec l'équipe nationale d'Arménie. Il a également remporté son championnat national une fois et la Coupe du monde deux fois ! A quelques encablures de la quarantaine, le héros de tout un peuple pourrait encore ajouter quelques lignes de prestige à un CV déjà bien fourni.

Début de carrière (1991 à 2001)

Aronian apprend les échecs à l'âge de neuf ans avec sa sœur. Grâce à l'entraînement dispensé par le GMI Melikset Khachiyan, le jeune Levon devient rapidement un très fort joueur.

En 1994, il remporte le championnat du monde pupilles avec 8/9. Une performance qui le place devant plusieurs autres futurs pensionnaires du top 10 mondial, parmi lesquels figurent Ruslan PonomariovAlexander Grischuk, Etienne Bacrot ainsi que le futur quintuple champion d'Espagne Francisco Vallejo Pons. C'est en l'an 2000 que Levon devient grand-maître international. Il termine ensuite deuxième des championnats du monde juniors en 2001 avec 9,5/13, et deuxième du très relevé championnat d'Arménie.

Champion d'Arménie et étoile montante des échecs (2002 à 2008)

L'année suivante, après être passé tout proche de la victoire aux championnats du monde junior et au championnat d'Arménie, il remporte les deux titres.

Il est alors âgé de vingt ans et devance de futurs grand-maîtres de premier plan tels que Bu XiangzhiPentala Harikrishna ou encore Luke McShane. Le titre national toutes catégories vient ensuite récompenser une superbe dernière année en junior.

Lors des saisons qui suivent, Aronian va enchaîner de très belles performances. De 2003 à 2005, il terme à chaque fois dans le top 4 du Championnat d'Europe individuel. En 2004, il bat Carlsen au premier tour de la Coupe du monde de la FIDE avant de s'incliner au troisième tour contre le russe Smirnov. En 2005, il remporte le tournoi international du Karabagh. Avec 6/9, il devance Ashot Anastasian, légende des échecs arméniens aux huit titres nationaux, ainsi que des GMI de l'élite tels que Hikaru Nakamura et Vassily Ivanchuk.

C'est à la fin de l'année 2005 qu'il réalise la plus belle performance de sa jeune carrière en remportant la Coupe du monde sans perdre la moindre partie. Pour s'imposer, il bat consécutivement Vallejo, Mikhail Gourevitch, Bacrot et Ponomariov. Il se qualifie ainsi pour le tournoi des candidats 2007, qui cette année là propose une formule à élimination directe. Il se débarrasse de Carlsen au premier tour puis d'Alexei Shirov au second et se qualifie pour le tournoi déterminant le futur champion du monde. Las, il n'y terminera que septième sur huit.

En 2006, Aronian remporte le super-tournoi de Linares. Avec 8,5/13, il devance d'un demi-point Teimour Radjabov et le champion du monde en titre Veselin Topalov, réalisant au passage une performance à 2808 Elo. Au tout premier Mémorial Tal, il partage la première place avec Ponomariov et Peter Leko. Finalement, à l'Olympiade d'échecs, il mène l'équipe d'Arménie vers une première médaille d'or historique.

Levon Aronian in 2006 before Linares
Levon Aronian en 2006. Photo : F. Friedel, CC 3.0.

Aronian participe également depuis le début des années 2000 aux tournois d'échecs 960 (ou Fischer Random). Après avoir remporté les qualifications mondiales en 2003, il affronte le champion du monde de l'époque, Peter Svidler, mais perd le match. Il gagne à nouveau le tournoi qualificatif en 2005 et obtient sa revanche. Cette fois, il s'impose et remporte le titre de champion du monde d'échecs 960, ce qui lui vaut d'être élu sportif de l'année en Arménie. Il défendra ce titre avec succès en 2007 face à Viswanathan Anand avant d'en être dépossédé en 2009 par Nakamura.

En 2007, Levon partage la première place du prestigieux tournoi de Wijk aan Zee (aujourd'hui Tata Steel) avec Topalov et Radjabov. Un exploit qu'il réédite l'année suivante à égalité avec Carlsen. La même année, il réalise une performance de choix à l'Olympiade d'échecs 2008 : Dans son sillage, l’Arménie conserve sa médaille d'or acquise deux ans plus tôt.

Champion du monde de rapide et de blitz (2009 à 2013)

En avril 2009, Aronian remporte la quatrième étape du Grand Prix FIDE 2008-2010 disputée à Nalchik, la capitale de la République russe de Kabardino-Balkar. Face à un pool de joueurs présentant une moyenne Elo de 2725, il réalise un score de 8,5/13, terminant un point devant Peter Leko et Vladimir Akopian. Cette victoire, assortie de bons résultats dans les autres étapes, lui permettra de remporter le Grand Prix à un tournoi de la fin, ce qui lui permet de se qualifier pour le tournoi des Candidats 2012. Malgré son statut de favori, il y est éliminé par Grischuk en départages lors du premier tour.

En août 2009, il remporte le championnat du monde de rapide en battant Ian Nepomniachtchi 3-1 en finale d'un tournoi à double rondes. Un succès qui lui vaudra le titre de "Maître des sports de la république d'Arménie", honneur qu'il recevra en décembre de la même année.

En 2010, il remporte à nouveau un championnat du monde, cette fois en blitz. Avec 24,5/38, il s’octroie le titre à une ronde de la fin, devançant Radjabov et le champion en titre Magnus Carlsen.

Après une année terne, il renoue avec le succès au plus haut niveau en 2012. A Wijk aan Zee, il s'impose avec 9/13, devançant d'un point Carlsen, Radjabov et Caruana. Il réalise au passage une époustouflante performance à 2892. En août, il mène à nouveau l'équipe d'Arménie vers la victoire à l'Olympiade. Son exceptionnelle perf à 2849 lui vaut également la médaille d'or individuelle au premier échiquier.

En 2013, après avoir terminé second derrière Carlsen à Wijk aan Zee, il remporte deux victoires de prestige. Favori du Mémorial Alekhine en avril, il s'impose face à Boris Gelfand en départage pour remporter le tournoi. En octobre, il participe au Grand Slam Chess Masters de Bilbao, un tournoi à double rondes mettant aux prises des joueurs de l'élite tels que Michael AdamsShakhyirar Mamedyarov et Maxime Vachier-Lagrave. Invaincu, il termine un point devant Adams et s’octroie une superbe victoire.

Quatrième plus haut Elo de l'histoire (2014 à 2019)

Aronian commence 2014 avec la manière en remportant à nouveau le tournoi de Wijk aan Zee. Avec 8/11, il atomise la concurrence : Ses plus proches poursuivants Anish Giri et Sergey Karjakin sont relégués à un point et demi ! Cette fois encore, il réalise une performance étourdissante : 2911 Elo !

Cette performance, qu'il confirme dans les mois qui suivent, lui vaut d'atteindre son pic Elo en mars 2014 : Avec 2830 au classement mensuel de la FIDE, il devient le troisième joueur le mieux classé de l'histoire. Il ne sera ensuite dépassé que par Caruana, et demeure à ce jour le quatrième meilleur Elo de tous les temps.

A la fin de l'année, Aronian accuse un léger recul. Il quitte pour la première fois le top 3 en octobre, alors qu'il occupait une place sur le podium mondial sans discontinuer depuis novembre 2010. Cependant, l'arménien va conserver avec opiniâtreté sa place dans l'élite mondiale. Aujourd'hui encore, il est capable de battre n'importe quel adversaire.

Début 2015, il participe au Championnat de Russie par équipes. Engagé dans l'équipe de Sibérie aux côtés de Vladimir Kramnik, il maîtrise le tournoi d'un bout à l'autre. Mais c'est en septembre qu'il remporte sa plus belle victoire de l'année en dominant la Sinquefield Cup avec un point d'avance sur des poursuivants de haut vol : Giri, Carlsen, Vachier-Lagrave et Nakamura ! Grâce à cette performance, il retrouve une place dans le top 10 mondial.

2016 sera une année beaucoup plus difficile pour le champion arménien, mais il saura rebondir en 2017. En avril, il remporte le Grenke Classic avec un point et demi d'avance sur Carlsen et Caruana. En juin, il s'impose au Norway Chess avec un point d'avance sur Carlsen, Kramnik et Karjakin, réalisant au passage une performance à 2918 ! En août, nouvelle victoire au Saint Louis Rapid & Blitz avec 24,5/36, trois points devant Karjakin et Nakamura. En septembre, il devient le seul joueur à remporter deux fois la Coupe du monde, se qualifiant pour le Tournoi des Candidats 2018 (qu'il terminera en dernière position). Finalement, en novembre, il remporte la médaille d'or individuelle aux Championnats d'Europe par équipes, que l'Arménie termine en seconde position.

En 2018, Aronian réalise deux performances remarquables : en janvier, à l'Open de Gibraltar, il s'impose après avoir disposé de Richard Rapport et de Maxime Vachier-Lagrave en départages. En août, il termine premier ex-aequo de la Sinquefield Cup avec Carlsen et Caruana. Les trois joueurs étant à égalité à tous les biais de départages (Résultats entre eux, nombre de victoires et nombre de victoires avec les noirs), ils décident de partager le titre plutôt que de tirer le vainqueur au sort ou de jouer des départages en rapide.

Levon Aronian

Levon Aronian au tournoi des Candidats 2018. Photo : Maria Emelianova/Chess.com.

Comme en 2018, Aronian réalise deux performances majuscules en 2019. La première au Saint Louis Rapid & Blitz, qu'il remporte pour la seconde fois avec 22/36, un demi-point devant Yu YangyiDing Liren et Vachier-Lagrave. Il remporte une autre belle victoire en cadence rapide au tournoi Superbet de Bucarest. Premier ex-aequo avec Karjakin, il va se défaire du russe en départage pour remporter la timbale.

Présent et futur

Aronian s'est déjà garanti une place parmi les plus grands joueurs de l'histoire. Alors qu'il n'est pas encore âgé de quarante ans, il a remporté une multitude de titres mondiaux (échecs 960, blitz, rapide...), deux Olympiades, deux Coupes du monde, et de nombreux autres tournois de prestige. Il est à ce jour le quatrième joueur le mieux classé de l'histoire, et il est parvenu à rester pendant quatre ans dans le top trois mondial sans discontinuer. Excusez du peu !

Levon Aronian at the 2018 Paris GCT
Levon Aronian au Grand Chess Tour Paris en 2018. Photo : Maria Emelianova/Chess.com.

Le héros du peuple arménien est, au moment où nous écrivons ces lignes (janvier 2020), toujours un joueur d'élite sur lequel il faut compter. C'est également un modèle de régularité qui n'a jamais quitté le top 20 mondial depuis juillet 2005. En outre, dans un bon jour, il est capable de battre absolument n'importe qui. Dangereux et fiable, il est presque toujours dans le coup pour la victoire finale.

(Vous pensez pouvoir jouer comme Levon Aronian ? Tentez de trouver les coups du GMI lors de cinq de ses plus belles parties !)

Meilleure partie


Ouvertures les plus fréquentes

Parties

GM Levon Aronian

Full name
Levon Aronian
Born
Oct 6, 1982 (age 37)‎
Place of birth
Yerevan, Armenian SSR, Soviet Union
Federation
Armenia
Profiles

Rating

Bio

Levon Aronian is an Armenian super grandmaster who has long been among the world’s best players. He first entered the top 20 in 2005 and still hasn’t lost that distinction. Most of those 15 years or so have been spent in the top 10.

Aronian has been a model for steady, elite-level chess play in recent years, but don’t let his consistency overshadow what he has accomplished so far. In the first half of the 2010s—November 2010 to September 2014—he was in the top three. In March 2014, his rating peaked at 2830. That made Aronian the fourth-highest rated player in history—only Magnus Carlsen, Garry Kasparov and Fabiano Caruana have achieved higher ratings.

Aronian’s resume also includes world championships in Fischer random chess, blitz and rapid; multiple gold team medals for the Armenian national team; an individual Armenian national title; two Chess World Cup victories and much more. The Armenian hero is a few years away from turning 40, which means that he could add quite a bit more to a legacy that has enriched the game.

Early Chess Career (1991 To 2001)

Aronian learned how to play chess when he nine years old. His sister taught him the basics, and with early coaching from GM Melikset Khachiyan, Aronian quickly became a strong chess player.

Aronian won the World Under-12 Championship in 1994 with 8/9 points. His performance put him in front of several future top-10 players in the world, including Ruslan Ponomariov, Alexander Grischuk and Etienne Bacrot, as well as future five-time Spanish Chess Champion GM Francisco Vallejo Pons. Later in 2000, Aronian became a grandmaster. Then he placed second in the 2001 World Junior Championship with 9.5/13 points. He also placed second in the Armenian Chess Championship that year.

National Champion And Rising Grandmaster (2002 To 2008)

One year after narrowly missing first place at the World Junior Championship and the Armenian Chess Championship, Aronian won both titles.

He took first place at the 2002 World Junior Championship ahead of future grandmasters such as Bu Xiangzhi, Pentala Harikrishna and Luke McShane. He also took the 2002 Armenian Chess Championship, granting the 20-year-old grandmaster two prestigious tournament victories in the same year.

Over the next few years, Aronian put together several notable performances. From 2003 to 2005, he strung together three top-four finishes in the annual European Individual Chess Championships. In 2004 he defeated Carlsen in the first round of the FIDE World Chess Championship before losing in the third round. In 2005 Aronian won the Karabakh International Tournament. His 6/9 points put him ahead of eight-time Armenian Chess Champion Ashot Anastasian (who finished second) as well as notable players such as Hikaru Nakamura and Vassily Ivanchuck.

A tournament at the end of the year may have represented his biggest accomplishment to date. Then Aronian won the Chess World Cup 2005 without losing a single game. He defeated Vallejo, Mikhail Gurevich, Bacrot and Ponomariov in the latter part of the 128-player tournament. The top-10 finishers qualified for the 2007 Candidates’ Tournament, which began with two rounds of matches before the World Chess Championship 2007. Aronian beat Carlsen in the first round and beat Alexei Shirov in the second round to qualify for the world championship tournament, where he placed seventh out of eight players.

The next year, 2006, Aronian won the elite Linares International Chess Tournament. His 8.5/13 points was half a point ahead of Teimour Radjabov and the then FIDE World Chess Champion, Veselin Topalov. Aronian finished the tournament with a performance rating of 2808. He tied for first place  with Peter Leko and Ponomariov at the inaugural Tal Memorial in 2006. At the 37th Chess Olympiad in the same year, Aronian led Armenia to its first-ever gold medal at the event.

Levon Aronian in 2006 before Linares
Levon Aronian in 2006 before Linares. Photo: F. Friedel, CC 3.0.

Aronian took part in the Finet Chess 960 (or Fischer random chess) open tournaments during this period. After winning in 2003, he earned a match against then-world champion Peter Svidler but lost. Aronian won the open tournament again in 2005, earning a rematch with Svidler. This time Aronian won, earning the Chess960 World Champion title. (In 2005, Aronian was named the best sportsman in Armenia.) He defended the title in 2007 against Viswanathan Anand and lost it in 2009 to Nakamura.

In 2007 Aronian shared first place with Topalov and Radjabov at the prestigious Corus tournament in Wijk aan Zee (now Tata Steel). He repeated in 2008 when he shared the victory with Carlsen. Among Aronian's tournament wins, a notable performance came at the 38th Chess Olympiad in 2008 when Armenia defended its title and captured a second consecutive gold medal, led once again by Aronian.

World Rapid & Blitz Champion (2009 To 2013)

In April 2009 Aronian won the fourth tournament of the 2008-2010 FIDE Grand Prix held in Nalchik, the capital city of the Kabardino-Balkar Republic, Russia. He finished with 8.5/13 points, a full point ahead of Peter Leko and Vladimir Akopian and an average field rated 2725. The win helped him in the standings of the Grand Prix, which he won with one tournament to go—that qualified him for the Candidates’ Tournament of the World Chess Championship 2012. Despite being a favorite in the Candidates’ Tournament, he lost to Grischuk in first-round tiebreakers.

Aronian won the World Rapid Chess Championship in August 2009 after defeating Ian Nepomniachtchi 3-1 in the finals of the double-round robin tournament. After taking the rapid world title, Aronian was awarded the title of “Honoured Master of Sport of the Republic of Armenia” in December 2009.

The next year, he took another world championship. This time it came in blitz chess, as he took the 2010 World Blitz Championship ahead of Radjabov and defending champion Carlsen. Aronian’s 24.5/38 points clinched the world title with a round to go.

Aronian’s next big wins came in 2012. At the prominent Tata Steel Chess Tournament in Wijk aan Zee, he won with 9/13 points, one point ahead of Carlsen, Radjabov and Caruana. Aronian finished with a tournament performance rating of 2892. Later in August and September 2012, he once again led Armenia to the gold medal at the 40th Chess Olympiad. Aronian had the best performance rating (2849) of all players on board one.

After finishing second to Carlsen in the 2013 Tata Steel Chess Tournament, Aronian had two notable wins to round out this period of his career. A favorite at the 2013 Alekhine Memorial in late April, he edged out Boris Gelfand on tiebreakers to take that tournament. In October, Aronian participated in the Grand Slam Chess Masters, a double round-robin event that also featured Michael Adams, Shakhyirar Mamedyarov and Maxime Vachier-Lagrave. Aronian went undefeated, finishing a full point ahead of Adams for the win.

Fourth-highest Rated Player In History (2014 To 2019)

Aronian began 2014 with another win at the Tata Steel Chess Tournament. His 8/11 points was more than enough for clear first, 1.5 points ahead of Anish Giri and Sergey Karjakin. Aronian had a tournament performance rating of 2911 when he captured his fourth title at Wijk aan Zee.

That performance combined with other strong play to enable Aronian to attain the highest rating of his career in March 2014. Reaching 2830 on the official FIDE rating list that month, he became the third-highest rated player in history. Fabiano reached 2844 later that year, in October, making Aronian the fourth-highest rated player in history. He holds that distinction today.

In late 2014 and into 2015, Aronian experienced a setback in his play. It started in October 2014 when he was no longer rated in the top three players in the world. For nearly four years—from November 2010 to September 2014—Aronian was no worse than the world’s number-three player. However, despite losing his status as one of the three highest-rated players in the world, Aronian has remained an elite chess player. As evidenced from the following highlights of his recent play, he’s always a threat to win at the highest level of chess.

Early in 2015, Aronian took part in the Russian Team Championship. He won the event while playing with team Siberia alongside Vladimir Kramnik. In September was Aronian’s biggest win of the year. With 6/9 points, he won the 2015 Sinquefield Cup a full point ahead of second-place finishers Giri, Carlsen, Vachier-Lagrave and Nakamura. The performance put Aronian back into the world’s top 10.

Although 2016 was a difficult year for Aronian, he showed a remarkable improvement in 2017. In April he won the Grenke Classic Tournament 1.5 points ahead of Carlsen and Caruana. In June he won the Norway Chess Tournament a full point ahead of Carlsen, Kramnik and Karjakin and had a tournament performance rating of 2918. In August he won the Saint Louis Rapid & Blitz with 24.5/36 points, which was three points over second-place finishers Karjakin and Nakamura. In September he won the Chess World Cup 2017—it qualified him for the Candidates’ Tournament 2018 (where he finished in last place)—and became the only player to win the World Cup twice. Finally, in November, he won individual gold on board one while playing for Armenia (team silver) at the 2017 European Team Chess Championship.

Aronian had two notable performances in 2018. In January he took the Gibraltar Chess Festival by beating Richard Rapport and Vachier-Lagrave on tiebreaks. In August he tied for first with Carlsen and Caruana in the 2018 Sinquefield Cup. After they were equal on three initial tiebreak regulations (mutual record, number of wins and number of wins as Black), the next tiebreak was a drawing of lots—complete chance. There was talk of a three-player playoff, but the trio decided to share the title.

Levon Aronian

Levon Aronian at the 2018 Candidates' Chess Tournament. Photo: Maria Emelianova/Chess.com.

Just like in 2018, Aronian had two notable performances in 2019. The first came at the Saint Louis Rapid & Blitz Tournament, where he won the event for the second consecutive year. His 22/36 points was half a point over Yu Yangyi, Ding Liren and Vachier-Lagrave. Aronian’s second major victory in 2019 came at the Superbet Rapid & Blitz tournament. He finished in a first-place tie with Karjakin, but Aronian won the playoff to take the event.

Present And Future

Aronian has already solidified his place as an all-time chess great. Prior to reaching 40 years of age, he has amassed wins and titles across world championships (in Fischer random chess, blitz and rapid), team events, Chess World Cup events and more. He’s the fourth-highest rated player in history. And for nearly four years of the first half of the 2010s, he remained one of the world’s three highest-ranked players.

Levon Aronian at the 2018 Paris GCT
Levon Aronian at the 2018 Paris GCT. Photo: Maria Emelianova/Chess.com.

Don’t forget those accomplishments as the Armenian icon and hero continues to play chess at an elite level. There’s no question that he’s a model of consistency—after all, Aronian has been in the world’s top 20 since entering it in July 2005—but he’s capable of beating anyone at any time. Aronian is as dangerous as he is dependable, which makes him a threat at the most prestigious chess titles and tournaments.

(Think you can play like Levon Aronian? See if you can match his moves in five of his greatest games.)

Best Game


Most Played Openings

Games