13472 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Backgammon, Yatzy, and more!
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
In similar discussions I've seen people say either an older version of chess or a similar game (I've forgotten) had/has the rule the stalemate is a loss... for the side giving stalemate!
But anyway, this is a good question, and much less silly than "why can't pawns ride the knights?" or some dumb thing. But even so, what I like to say to those is the game and rules aren't meant to tell a story or emulate real battle / war or anything like that. The rules are only there to make a game rich in strategy and tactics that's enjoyable, and I think the current rules are good.
Not that I don't understand the logic. Sometimes I think during a game, if my king is in check, why can't I counter with a check and if they capture my king I capture theirs and it's a draw? Seem fair to me
@Ubik: I'm not sure what you meant about resetting the clocks and all, but the post was assuming the theoretical circumstance that "capture the opponent's king" is the way to win chess.
Well right now if you are in an OTB tournament and you move your king onto a square controlled by an enemy piece and then punch the clock...what happens? While the clock was depressed during your illegal move, your opponent lost time that he shouldnt have lost.
Suppose in the worst case scenario, your opponent was off in the bathroom while you made your illegal move, and he lost 5 minutes on his clock. When he returns, he sees your king is on an illegal square, so what now? Just unpunching the clock doesnt undo the damage to his time.
I think in that case you need to call the TD over so he can reset the clocks, but I am not sure.
If instead the rule was "capture the king", then the solution is obvious...the game would end right there!
I guess because if someone stabs you first, you're not alive to make the return stab... but I know the feeling :-)
They should give you two queens and king should be able to duck behind a rook to escape check.
All jokes aside, it's an interesting thought...
All jokes back on check out this video for the real future of chess:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZV1bpMamCtY
That's what people say, but it's silly. My last orders to my bishop are... if I die, kill the enemy king... "ok boss" then next turn king dies, so then bishop retaliates. ez pz.
Anyone else tired or people resigning?
by vinz88 a few minutes ago
by notmtwain 120 seconds ago
The Soviet Russian Chess Set Mania Continues,another circa 1950's set
by cgrau 3 minutes ago
why is e5 more popular than c5 at lower levels of play?
by KBachler 3 minutes ago
He timed out not me?!
by jandrm 5 minutes ago
Is there any chance that a 1300 rated player can beat a 2700 rated player?
by arcaneterrain 8 minutes ago
11/28/2015 - White To Draw
by GooberPile 9 minutes ago
Phantom chess. First time hearing about it.
by RonaldJosephCote 13 minutes ago
Beginner Trying To Learn Fundamentals
by RasputinTheMad 20 minutes ago
What's better, the Queen's Gambit or the King's Gambit?
by Hadron 26 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2015 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!