Forums

best chess program?

Sort:
jwLtc73

hi im a 1250 player! i was looking for great chess books, then someone told me

that chess softwares/programs are way better in some parts.

so i researched them and learned that people love chessmaster 10, fritz 9 and rybka 3. Now, eventually i'm going to get a rybka 3, but for now what should i get?

i heart that chessmaster 10, 11 and fritz 9 is good(but i only want to get one!)

so thank you to all of you who are going to answer me!

RyanMK

Rybka 3 is the best availible now. Also, you should still read some chess books.

jwLtc73

thank you, but i'm trying to decide between fritz and chessmaster (im eventually going to get rybka 3 sothat doesn't matter. what i want for the chess program is

a good trainer that can really improve my skills

RyanMK

I've heard that Fritz 10 is good for training.

dkuperman

I'm a beginner and own Chessmaster 10. Since I've started using the program I was able to really improve my game. I haven't used the other softwares mentioned, so can't speak about them. I agree with the other user that Josh Waitzkin is excellent, having him teach you from basic moves, strategies, up to some more involved games was a great learning experience. The program also contains a vast database of chess openings, and narrated games that guide you through why the player made certain moves. 

One of the features I like most about the software is that on "training mode" you can at the end of the game ask the software to analyze your game, and it will go play by play showing you what you did and what other moves were possible and even better... this has been a great training tool for me.