Chess - Play & Learn


FREE - In Google Play

FREE - in Win Phone Store


En Passant?

  • #1



    at move 28 in the very end when the pawn went two squares shouldn't I have been able to en passant? If so the game didn't allow me to

  • #2
    Would you mind at least making a google search before asking us dumb questions?
  • #3

    no dude ur pawn has to be on 5th rank

  • #4

    thanks rock. I actually googled it and overlooked the positioning of my pawn.

  • #5

    I don't know whether you read this on Google, but the original reason for the En Passant rule was this:

    Back in the olden days (more than 400 years ago), pawns could only move one square at a time--even when it was their first move!  This made the opening take a long time, so they changed the rule so that pawns can move two squares on their first move (the rule we know today).

    This created a problem:  If you were in a position where your pawn would be taken if you pushed it one square, you could take "unfair" advantage of this new rule to sneak your pawn past the opponent's pawn without him having a chance to take it!  That's why the En Passant rule was made--so that at least for one move, your opponent can take your pawn (or vice versa) as if it only moved one square.

  • #6

    hey Phillip! Very interesting and informative, I did not read this on Google. Sometimes when I look up openings and rules I forget to enjoy the history of it all. I don't know if it's still up, but there's a great 8 or 9 minute animated documentary on the history of chess you might like on amazon.

  • #7
    x_maven_x wrote:

    thanks rock. I actually googled it and overlooked the positioning of my pawn.


    I wonder how the en passant move would look like if it does exist in your case, with a White pawn on g6 and the Black pawn having moved from h7 to h5.

  • #8

    Hi Eric! This is my first forum post and I'm really loving all the intrigue and responses that have manifested from it. I plugged the game into stockfish because I was quite curious too and these are the resulting moves:

    * Please note that this was played out from the position where white's pawn is on h7 and it's blacks move

    1... Qe6 2. Rg1 Ne7 3. Rg5 c6 4. Rd1 Qh3 5. Ra1
    Rxh7 6. Bxh7 Qxh7 7. Kf3 Nf5 8. Re1 Qh3+ 9. Kf2
    Qh2+ 10. Rg2 Qh4+ 11. Ke2 Nxe3 12. Rg7 Qh5+ 13. Kxe3
    Qc5+ 14. Kd3 Qd5+ 15. Kc2 Qc4+ 16. Kb1 Qb4+ 17. Ka2
    Qc4+ 18. Ka1 Qc3+ 19. Ka2 Qc4+ 20. Ka1 Qd4+ 21. Kb1


    My notes:

    Assuming there are not any time constraints and the two players are rated relatively high, white is really just on his knees praying for some sort of blunder. About 10 moves in, both sides start trading and the Queen just outmaneuvers the white pieces leading to a victory.  

    Fortunately, this is a blitz game(3+0) between 2 lower rated players and the possibility of a blunder is still very feasible. I obviously have a bias here, but I think I could have maybe flagged him or forced a mistake.

  • #9

     En passant is possible when white pawn is on 5th rank(4th rank for Black) and adjacent black pawn move 2 squares up.





  • #10

    Let me put your text on the board.


    The position in the link of the game on post #1 is as follows.



    Imagine the en passant in valid and it becomes like this.



    Then the game continuation based on what you wrote would be as follows.


  • #11

    Anything can happen, even in high-level play, although the rates of major blundering at the high level are close to negligible.


Online Now