Artemiev Wins 12th Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix

Artemiev Wins 12th Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix

| 16 | News

GM Vladislav Artemiev won the 12th Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix. The Russian grandmaster beat his compatriot GM Boris Grachev 2-0 in the knockout final. GM Haik Martirosyan of Armenia continues to lead the overall Grand Prix standings.

The next Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix will be played on August 25 at 10 a.m. Pacific / 19:00 Central Europe.

The 12th Speed Chess Grand Prix tournament was held on Tuesday, August 18, with 773 participants. Artemiev got the "double" as he also finished clear first in the Swiss part, scoring 9/10.

The live broadcast of the tournament.

The biggest names for over-the-board chess didn't make it to the final eight this time: GMs Fabiano Caruana, Alexander Grischuk, Sergey Karjakin, and Peter Svidler all failed to make the cut. Grischuk lost in the penultimate round to the biggest name who did make it (Artemiev) but missed a mate in two:

Artemiev won alone, ahead of Grachev. The other six players on 8.5 points who qualified were GMs Parham Maghsoodloo (Iran), Boris Savchenko (Russia), Grigoriy Oparin (Russia), Baadur Jobava (Georgia), Maksim Chigaev (Russia), and S.L. Narayanan (India).

August 18 Speed Chess Grand Prix | Swiss Final Standings (Top 20)

Rk Fed Title Username Name Score SB
1 GM @Sibelephant Vladislav Artemiev 9 58
2 GM @Guenplen Boris Grachev 8.5 55.25
3 GM @Parhamov Parham Maghsoodloo 8.5 55
4 GM @tigra Boris Savchenko 8.5 53.75
5 GM @OparinGrigoriy Grigoriy Oparin 8.5 52.75
6 GM @exoticprincess Baadur Jobava 8.5 51.25
7 GM @Fandorine Maksim Chigaev 8.5 50
8 GM @Indianlad S.L. Narayanan 8.5 48.5
9 GM @SantoBlue Vahap Sanal 8.5 46
10 GM @PSvidler Peter Svidler 8.5 41
11 GM @KuzubovYuriy Yuriy Kuzubov 8 52.5
12 GM @Polish_fighter3000 Jan-Krzysztof Duda 8 49
13 FM @MatthewG-p4p Matvey Galchenko 8 48.75
13 GM @Micki-taryan Haik Martirosyan 8 48.75
15 GM @amintabatabaei Amin Tabatabaei 8 47.25
16 GM @SergeyKarjakin Sergey Karjakin 8 47
17 GM @tptagain David Anton Guijarro 8 46
18 GM @LyonBeast Maxime Vachier-Lagrave 8 45.5
19 GM @LiemLe Liem Le 8 45.25
19 GM @TranJMinh Minh Trần Tuấn 8 45.25

Artemiev defeated Narayanan (@Indianlad) and Oparin (@OparinGrigoriy) to reach the final of the knockout, while Grachev (@Guenplen) eliminated Chigaev (@Fandorine) and Jobava (@exoticprincess). The latter two won one each, after which the Georgian GM suffered from a premove blunder in the first bullet game:

Artemiev, who also won the very first Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix, convincingly won both games in the final. Here's the first, in which he outplayed his opponent and got a nice center, then a space advantage and finally a winning counter-attack.

Artemiev won the $1,000 first prize and 12 GP points while Grachev took second ($500 and eight GP points). Jobava and Oparin both won $200 and four GP points, while the losing quarterfinalists each earned $100 and two GP points. 

GM Aleksandra Goryachkina (@Goryachkina) won the $100 prize for being the top-scoring female player.

Below are the current Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix standings. At the end of the season, the players with the four best scores will advance to the Speed Chess Championship to be hosted later this year.

Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix | Standings After August 18 (Top 20)

# Fed Title Name Username Swiss
1 GM Haik Martirosyan @Micki-taryan 59.5 28 87.5
2 GM Parham Maghsoodloo @Parhamov 59.5 22 81.5
3 GM Hikaru Nakamura @Hikaru 51 28 79
4 GM Vladislav Artemiev @Sibelephant 42.5 36 78.5
5 GM Vladislav Kovalev @vladislavkovalev 66 8 74
6 GM Maxime Vachier-Lagrave @LyonBeast 41.5 28 69.5
7 GM Dmitry Andreikin @2Vladimirovich90 49.5 14 63.5
8 GM Grigoriy Oparin @OparinGrigoriy 42.5 20 62.5
9 GM Sergey Karjakin @SergeyKarjakin 49.5 10 59.5
10 GM Alexander Grischuk @Grischuk 49.5 6 55.5
11 GM Maksim Chigaev @Fandorine 41 12 53
12 GM Nordibek Abdusattorov @ChessWarrior7197 42 10 52
13 GM Alireza Firouzja @Firouzja2003 40.5 10 50.5
14 GM Vladimir Fedoseev @Bigfish1995 33 14 47
15 GM Boris Grachev @Guenplen 39 8 47
16 GM Peter Svidler @PSvidler 33.5 12 45.5
17 GM Raunak Sadhwani @RaunakSadhwani2005 40 4 44
18 IM Hans Niemann @IMHansNiemann 40 2 42
19 GM Giga Kuparadze @GigaQuparadze 40.5 0 40.5
20 GM Fabiano Caruana @FabianoCaruana 34 6 40

Games final eight

The Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix is presented by Gambit, where you can play classic games like Reversi, Backgammon, and Oh Ship with players from around the world.

More information about the Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix can be found here.

Peter Doggers

Peter Doggers joined a chess club a month before turning 15 and still plays for it. He used to be an active tournament player and holds two IM norms.

Peter has a Master of Arts degree in Dutch Language & Literature. He briefly worked at New in Chess, then as a Dutch teacher and then in a project for improving safety and security in Amsterdam schools.

Between 2007 and 2013 Peter was running ChessVibes, a major source for chess news and videos acquired by in October 2013.

As our Director News & Events, Peter writes many of our news reports. In the summer of 2022, The Guardian’s Leonard Barden described him as “widely regarded as the world’s best chess journalist.”

In October, Peter's first book The Chess Revolution will be published!

Company Contact and News Accreditation: 

Phone: 1 (800) 318-2827
Address: PO Box 60400 Palo Alto, CA 94306

More from PeterDoggers
Arjun Erigaisi Briefly World #5 As Menorca Open Winner

Arjun Erigaisi Briefly World #5 As Menorca Open Winner

Isa Kasimi (Igors Rausis) 1961-2024

Isa Kasimi (Igors Rausis) 1961-2024