GM Sergey Karjakin

Nom complet
Sergey Karjakin
Date de naissance
Jan 12, 1990 (âge 30)‎
Lieu de naissance
Simferopol, Ukraine SSR, Union Soviétique
Fédération
Russie

Classement

Bio

Sergey Karjakin, toujours au top niveau, est surtout connu comme le plus jeune joueur de l'histoire à obtenir le titre de GM, à seulement 12 ans et 7 mois. Il a aussi poussé Magnus Carlsen - souvent considéré comme l'un des deux plus grands joueurs d'échecs de tous les temps (avec Garry Kasparov) - aux départages dans le match de Championnat du Monde de 2016. Le russe est passé tout près de décrocher le titre le plus prestigieux en classique, exploit qu'il a déjà réalisé en rapide (2012) et en blitz (2016).

Reconnu pour ses capacités époustouflantes de résilience, le "Ministre de la Défense" de Russie est un habitué des grands tournois. Il fait partie d'un groupe sélect de candidats capables de détrôner Carlsen de son fauteuil de champion du monde.

Jeunesse et début de carrière (1995 à 2009)

Karjakin a l'image du prodige par excellence et de par sa précocité, il peut même être vu comme le plus doué de l'histoire.

A l'âge de cinq ans, il apprend à jouer, puis, entraîné par le GM ukrainien Vladislav Borovikov, il met rapidement en émoi la planète échecs par ses progrès fulgurants. Il devient, à l'époque, le plus jeune joueur de l'histoire à obtenir le titre de MI (11 ans et 11 mois), record battu récemment (le GM Praggnanandhaa le détient dorénavant avec 10 ans et 10 mois). Karjakin enchaîne avec le statut de GMI, qu'il décroche à l'âge de 12 ans et 7 mois - un record qui tient toujours.

Sergey Karjakin at age 11
Sergey Karjakin à 11 ans. Photo Alexander Turpin.

Durant sa jeunesse, Karjakin performe particulièrement bien aux tournois auxquels il prend part. Il remporte, par exemple, le Championnat d'Europe - de 10 ans en 1999 et le Championnat du Monde - de 12 ans en 2001. A 11 ans (!), Karjakin est le second officiel de Ruslan Ponomariov lors de son match de Championnat du Monde avec Vassily Ivanchuk en 2002 (son rôle étant alors celui d'un assistant : préparations, répertoire d'ouvertures, nouvelles idées...).

Karjakin bat la joueuse star Alexandra Kosteniuk en 2003 lors d'un match de six parties sur le score de quatre à deux. En 2004, il domine le champion du monde du moment, Vladimir Kramnik lors d'un blitz. La même année, Karjakin remporte l'or par équipe et l'or individuel lors des 36ème Olympiades pour l'Ukraine. De plus, il est le seul joueur à s'imposer contre un ordinateur lors du Championnat par équipes Homme vs Machine en 2004 (Ponomariov et Veselin Topalov ont également participé à l'événement).

Karjakin apparaît pour la première fois dans le top 100 mondial en 2005, à l'âge de 15 ans avec un élo de 2635. À 18 ans, il franchit le seuil des 2700, synonyme de la distinction symbolique de "Super GM". Il remporte son premier grand tournoi à Wijk aan Zee en 2009, devant Levon Aronian, Teimour Radjabov et Sergei Movesian, deuxièmes ex-equo, suivent ensuite Magnus Carlsen et Leinier Domínguez Pérez.

Un joueur du top niveau (2009 à 2016)

Après son succès à Wijk aan Zee à seulement 19 ans, Karjakin rentre dans une nouvelle période de sa carrière en tant que jeune adulte. Il réalise plusieurs performances impressionnantes avant sa rencontre avec Magnus Carlsen en 2016.

En 2010, Karjakin finit deuxième après un départage à trois avec Levon Aronian (premier) et Shakhriyar Mamedyarov (troisième) au Tal Memorial. Il bat, entre autres, Vladimir Kramnik et Boris Gelfand, qui terminent respectivement septième et huitième sur 10 joueurs en lice. Une autre performance digne d'être mentionnée cette année-là, est celle réalisé lors des 39èmes Olympiades alors que Karjakin joue pour sa nouvelle équipe : la Russie. Il glane une médaille individuelle pour son score de 8/10 au quatrième échiquier, assorti d'une perf à 2859.

Au Championnat du Monde de rapides en 2012, Karjakin s'empare de la médaille d'or, devant le vice-champion du monde Carlsen et le troisième Veselin Topalov, avec un score impressionnant de 15/18. Un mois plus tard, Karjakin partage la première place avec Fabiano Caruana du tournoi annuel de Dortmund Sparkassen Chess-Meeting, mais finit second au départage.

En 2013, Karjakin prend part à ce qu'il considère comme le meilleur tournoi de sa carrière, le Norway Chess (Norvège échecs). Avec son score de 6/9, il devance Carlsen et Hikaru Nakamura d'un demi point. Peter Svidler, Levon Aronian et Viswanathan Anand, terminent avec 5/9 points et démontrent le calibre du tournoi (Karjakin est alors moins bien classé que ces cinq joueurs). Il est intéressant de noter qu'un tournoi de blitz - aussi remporté par Karjakin - a décidé de l'ordre des parties pour le tournoi principal. L'année suivante, Karjakin signe un superbe doublé en remportant de nouveau l'événement au nez et à la barbe de Carlsen.

Sergey Karjakin vs Veselin Topalov
Sergey Karjakin vs Veselin Topalov

En 2015, Karjakin arrache la victoire lors de la Coupe du Monde 2015, après avoir été mené 2 à 0 par Svidler en finale. Cette performance le qualifie directement pour le tournoi des candidats, dont le vainqueur défiera le champion du monde Magnus Carlsen.

Récents faits d'arme (2016 à 2018)

Karjakin s'adjuge la victoire au tournoi des candidats 2016, à Moscou, devant Fabiano Caruana et Viswanathan Anand, il gagne ainsi son ticket pour affronter Magnus Carlsen au cours d'un match de Championnat du Monde en 2016.

Ce duel se déroule à New York, de la mi à la fin novembre, sous la forme de 12 parties classiques. Karjakin repousse les limites du champion en titre, contraint de se défendre lors de départages en rapides, chaque joueur s'était imposé une fois pour 10 parties nulles en lentes. Les départages commencent par deux nouvelles nulleS avant que Carlsen ne signe deux succès d'affilée, sonnant le glas des espoirs de titre de son challenger.

Karjakin se venge un mois plus tard, fin décembre, il bat Carlsen au tie-break pour décrocher le titre de champion du monde de blitz 2016. Les deux joueurs (16.5/21) finissent avec deux points d'avance sur Daniil Dubov, Hikaru Nakamura et Alexander Grischuk.

Sergey Karjakin won the 2016 World Blitz Championship
Sergey Karjakin remporte le Championnat du Monde de blitz 2016 

Au tournoi des candidats 2018, Karjakin termine troisième à égalité avec Shakhriyar Mamedyarov, derrière Fabiano Caruana, qui, comme Karjakin, emmènera Carlsen jusqu'aux départages de Championnat du Monde en 2018, en vain.

Présent et futur

Sergey Karjakin defeated Viswanathan Anand
Sergey Karjakin domine Viswanathan Anand. Photo courtesy of Shamkir Chess.

Karjakin est un habitué des tournois de l'élite. Il se classe, par exemple, second avec Ding du Mémorial de Gashimov en avril 2019, derrière Magnus Carlsen. Au moment de l'écriture de ces lignes, Karjakin participe à la série de Grands Prix, moyen de qualification pour le Championnat du Monde 2020.

Gagnera-t-il une autre chance de détrôner Carlsen ? Cela reste à voir, mais Karjakin est clairement un outsider sérieux et demeure l'un des meilleurs joueurs du monde. Il a démontré pouvoir faire jeu égal avec le champion du monde, considéré comme l'un des plus grands joueurs de l'histoire des échecs et l'a même battu (à plusieurs reprises). Il est possible que Karjakin joue de nouveau les troubles fêtes quant à l'hégémonie de Carlsen.

Quoi qu'il en soit, Il a déjà marqué de son nom l'Histoire de notre jeu. Ce génie de précocité aura 30 ans en janvier 2020, il a donc encore de belles années pour surprendre la scène internationale. 

Meilleure partie


Ouvertures les plus fréquentes

Parties

GM Sergey Karjakin

Full name
Sergey Karjakin
Born
Jan 12, 1990 (age 29)‎
Place of birth
Simferopol, Ukrainian SSR, Soviet Union
Federation
Russia
Profiles

Rating

Bio

Sergey Karjakin is an elite chess player who became the youngest-ever GM at 12 years and seven months of age. Most notably, he pushed Magnus Carlsen—typically considered one of the two greatest chess players of all time (along with Garry Kasparov)—to tiebreakers in the 2016 World Chess Championship. Karjakin nearly won the most prestigious title in chess to go along with two world titles in rapid (2012) and blitz (2016) that came at the expense of the world champion.

Renowned for his brilliant defensive play, Russia’s “Minister of Defense” is a regular fixture of top chess tournaments. He’s among a select group of players capable of dethroning Carlsen as the best chess player in the world.

Youth and Early Chess Career (1995 to 2009)

Karjakin is the quintessential chess prodigy. In fact, he may be the top prodigy in history.

At the age of five, Karjakin learned to play chess. Trained by Ukranian GM Vladislav Borovikov, Karjakin shocked the chess world with his progress. He became the youngest-ever player to earn an IM title (11 years, 11 months) at the time, which was since been broken (GM Praggnanandhaa now holds the record at 10 years and 10 months of age). Karjakin also became the world’s youngest grandmaster at 12 years and seven months old—a record that still stands.

Sergey Karjakin at age 11
Sergey Karjakin at age 11. Photo courtesy filmmaker Alexander Turpin.

Karjakin performed well in tournaments at a young age. For instance, he won the U10 European Youth Chess Championship in 1999 and the U12 World Youth Chess Championship in 2001. When he was 11 years old, Karjakin was the official second for Ruslan Ponomariov during his world championship match with Vassily Ivanchuk in 2002 (a chess second works as an assistant for top players, helping them research opponents and prepare opening repertoires).

Karjakin beat Alexandra Kosteniuk in 2003 during a six-game match by a score of four to two. In 2004, Karjakin beat the current world champion, Vladimir Kramnik, in a blitz game. The same year, Karjakin won team gold and individual gold in the 36th Olympiad for Ukraine. Additionally, he was the only player to win against a computer in the Man vs Machine Team Championship 2004 (Ponomariov and Veselin Topalov also took part in the event).

Karjakin first appeared on the world’s top 100 list in 2005, at the age of 15 with a rating of 2635. By 18 years of age, he broke the 2700-rating threshold that often leads to the “Super GM” distinction. Karjakin won his first major tournament at Wijk aan Zee in 2009, ahead of second-place Levon Aronian, Teimour Radjabov and Sergei Movesian, as well as third-place finishers Magnus Carlsen and Leinier Domínguez Pérez.

A Seasoned, Elite Player (2009 to 2016)

After winning in Wijk aan Zee at just 19 years old, Karjakin launched a new period of his chess career as a young adult. He had several impressive tournament performances leading up to his meeting with Magnus Carlsen in 2016.

In 2010, Karjakin finished second in a three-way tiebreak with Levon Aronian (first) and Shakhriyar Mamedyarov (third) at the Tal Memorial. The tournament included many of the world’s best players; for instance, Karjakin’s wins were against Vladimir Kramnik and Boris Gelfand, and they finished seventh and eighth, respectively, out of 10 players. Another noteworthy performance that year came at the 39th Olympiad, when Karjakin played for his new team, Russia. He took an individual medal for going 8/10 on board 4 with a performance rating of 2859.

At the World Rapid Chess Championship in 2012, Karjakin won gold outright, ahead of runner-up Carlsen and third-place Veselin Topalov, with a 15/18 score. One month later, Karjakin tied Fabiano Caruana for first at the annual Dortmund Sparkassen Chess-Meeting tournament, but finished second on tiebreakers.

In 2013, Karjakin took part in what he called the best tournament of his career. He won the Norway Chess 2013 tournament with a 6/9 score, edging out Carlsen and Hikaru Nakamura by 1/2 point. Peter Svidler, Levon Aronian and Viswanathan Anand, who finished with 5/9 points, showcase the caliber of the tournament (Karjakin was rated lower than all five players). It’s interesting to note that a blitz tournament decided the play order for the main tournament; Karjakin won that too, beating Carlsen, Anand and Nakamura by 1/2 point. The following year, Karjakin repeated by winning Norway Chess 2014, once again beating Carlsen.

Sergey Karjakin vs Veselin Topalov
Sergey Karjakin vs Veselin Topalov

In 2015, Karjakin won the 2015 World Cup after going down two games to Svidler. That performance qualified him for the Candidates’ Tournament and the right to challenge World Champion Magnus Carlsen.

Recent Highlights (2016 to 2018)

At the 2016 Candidates’ Tournament in Moscow, Karjakin finished ahead of Fabiano Caruana and Viswanathan Anand to win the event. That set the encounter between Karjakin and Magnus Carlsen in the 2016 World Chess Championship.

It took place in New York city in mid- to late-November, and the format was 12 classical games and tiebreak games (plus an Armageddon game) if needed. Karjakin pushed the world champion to tiebreaks, as each player had one win and five draws during the classical portion of the match. Yet, in the rapid tiebreaks, there were two draws and then Carlsen beat Karjakin in two subsequent games, allowing him to retain the title.

Karjakin had revenge one month later. In late December, Karjakin beat Carlsen on tiebreaks to win the 2016 World Blitz Championship. Those two players (16.5/21) finished a full two points ahead of Daniil Dubov, Hikaru Nakamura and Alexander Grischuk.

Sergey Karjakin won the 2016 World Blitz Championship
Sergey Karjakin won the 2016 World Blitz Championship

At the 2018 Candidates’ Tournament, Karjakin finished third after tiebreaks. He tied with Shakhriyar Mamedyarov behind Fabiano Caruana, who, like Karjakin, pushed Carlsen to tiebreaks in the 2018 World Chess Championship.

Present and Future

Sergey Karjakin defeated Viswanathan Anand
Sergey Karjakin defeated Viswanathan Anand. Photo courtesy of Shamkir Chess.

Karjakin is a regular at elite tournaments. For instance, at the 2019 Gashimov Memorial in April, he placed well, tying with Ding Liren for second place behind Magnus Carlsen. At the time of publication, Karjakin is taking part in the Grand Prix series that serves as qualification for the 2020 World Chess Championship.

Will he have another chance at dethroning Carlsen? That remains to be seen, but Karjakin is clearly a mainstay in elite tournaments and among the best players in the world. He’s demonstrated that he can hang with and even defeat (repeatedly) the world champion considered to be one of the greatest players in the history of chess. Perhaps Karjakin can play spoiler to Carlsen’s potential legacy as the best of all time.

Whatever the case may be, Karjakin has already built a legacy in chess. The chess prodigy is the youngest GM in history by a wide margin (12 years, 7 months and 0 days vs Bu Xiangzhi’s 13 years, 10 months and 13 days). He nearly beat Carlsen for the world championship to go along with other world titles he claimed in blitz and rapid chess. Those accomplishments are the highlights for a world-class player who turns 30 in January 2020. He has plenty of time to shock the chess world yet again.

Best Game


Most Played Openings

Games