GM Fabiano Caruana

Vollständiger Name
Fabiano Caruana
Geboren
Jul 30, 1992 (Alter 28)‎
Geburtsort
Miami, Florida, EUA
Föderation
Vereinigte Staaten

Rating

Bio

Das Wunderkind, das Hikaru Nakamuras Rekord als Amerikas jüngster Großmeister gebrochen hat, ist Fabiano Caruana. Er hat in seiner noch jungen Karriere schon zahlreiche Turniere gewonnen und ist momentan die Nummer 2 der Welt. 2018 spielte der Amerikaner bei der Schachweltmeisterschaft in London gegen Magnus Carlsen um den Weltmeistertitel und verlor erst in den Schnellschach-Playoffs.

Bio

    Frühe Kindheit

    Fabiano Caruana wurde am 30. Juli 1992 in Miami, Florida, geboren. Seine Begabung für Schach entdeckte er in einem Nachmittagskurs seiner Schule, als er im Alter von 5 Jahren nach New York zog. Sein erster Schachtrainer war der bekannte Schachbuchautor Bruce Pandolfini. Später wurde Caruana von den Großmeistern Miron Sher und Alexander Chernin trainiert.

    2002 wurde er FIDE-Meister und 2006 Internationaler Meister. Ein Jahr später, im Alter von 14 Jahren, 11 Monaten und 20 Tagen, wurde Caruana der jüngste Großmeister der amerikanischen und italienischen Schachgeschichte. Kurz nach dem Gewinn des Großmeistertitels gewann er die italienische Schachmeisterschaft und wurde dadurch der jüngste italienische Meister aller Zeiten.

    Teenager Jahre

    2008 gewann Fabiano das C-Turnier des Tata Steel Schachturniers und erspielte sich dadurch einen Startplatz für das B-Turnier im kommenden Jahr. Ebenfalls 2008 gab er sein Debüt bei der Schacholympiade in Dresden und erzielte für Italien an Brett 1 7.5 von 11 möglichen Punkten. Danach gewann er erneut die italienische Meisterschaft und beendete das Jahr mit einer Elo von 2640, was ihm auch erstmals einen Platz unter den Top 100 der Welt einbrachte.

    2009 gewann Caruana das Tata Steel B-Turnier, wo er unter anderem den englischen Großmeister Nigel Short besiegte. Nach starken Leistungen sowohl in der russischen Mannschaftsmeisterschaft als auch beim Mitropa-Cup wurde Caruana für den Weltcup in Khanty-Mansiysk nominiert, wo er Lazaro Bruzon, Lenier Dominguez und Evgeny Alekseev besiegte, bevor er gegen Vugar Gashimov verlor.

    Durch die Teilnahme beim Weltcup verpasste Caruana die italienischen Schachmeisterschaften 2009, gewann die Veranstaltung aber 2010 und 2011 noch zwei weitere Male. Ende 2011 hatte Caruana eine Elo von weit über 2700 und Platz 17 in der Weltrangliste erreicht.

    Der Aufstieg in die Top Ten

    Im Jahr 2012 ging der Aufstieg von Caruana weiter. Nach einem zweiten Platz in der A-Gruppe des Tata-Steel-Turniers startete Caruana in eine Serie und gewann zuerst die Reykjavik Open, das Sigeman and Co Schachturnier und das Dortmunder Sparkassen Chess Meeting. Im selben Jahr belegte Caruana sowohl beim Tal Memorial als auch beim Grand Slam Chess Final den zweiten Platz. Im Jänner 2013 war Caruana mit einer Elo von 2781 bereits auf Platz 5 in der Weltrangliste eingestuft.

    Caruana verbrachte einen Großteil des Jahres 2013 damit, sich über den FIDE Grand Prix für das Kandidatenturnier 2014 zu qualifizieren. Nach dem dritten Platz in Zug, dem zweiten Platz in Thessaloniki und dem Sieg in Paris hatte Caruana zwar 380 Punkte gesammelt, die automatische Qualifikation für das Kandidatenturnier aber knapp verpasst.

    2014 belegte Caruana sowohl beim Shamkir Chess and als beim Norway Chess den zweiten Platz. Ein gewisser Magnus Carlsen gewann beide Turniere.

    Caruana
    Caruana beim Shamkir Chess Turnier. | Foto © Maria Emelianova/Chess.com

    Sein denkwürdigster Sieg im Jahr 2014 gelang ihm gegen den ukrainischen Großmeister Ruslan Ponomariov beim Dortmunder Sparkassen Chess Meeting:

    Caruana gewann dann auch noch mit nur einem halben Punkt Rückstand die Silbermedaille bei der Schnellschachweltmeisterschaft in Dubai und spielte bei der Schacholympiade 2014 in Tromso, Norwegen, erneut an Brett 1 für Italien.

    Nachdem die Olympiade zu Ende war, wechselte Caruana zurück in den Verband der USA und gewann den Sinquefield Cup durch seine denkwürdigen sieben Siege in Folge.

    Caruana Sinquefield Chess Cup 2017
    Caruana war selbst von seiner Siegesserie überrascht. | Foto © Maria Emelianova/Chess.com

    Die Siege gegen Hikaru Nakamura, Levon Aronian, Maxime Vachier-Lagrave, Vesilin Topalov und vor allem gegen den amtierenden Weltmeister Magnus Carlsen, alles Top 10 Spieler zu dieser Zeit, brachten ihm mit 3080 die beste Turnierleistung aller Zeiten und das Endergebnis von 8.5/10 pushte seine Elo auf 2844. Am Ende des Turniers war Caruana der zweitbeste Spieler der Welt.

    Das Kandidatenturnier 2016

    Nach der historischen Leistung beim Sinquefield Cup kehrte Caruana zum FIDE Grand Prix zurück, um sich für das Kandidatenturnier 2016 zu qualifizieren. Im Oktober 2014 teilte sich Caruana beim ersten der vier Turniere im aserbaidschanischen Baku mit Boris Gelfand den ersten Platz. Zum Jahresende belegte Caruana in Taschkent den geteilten vierten Platz.

    Im Mai 2015, Caruana teilte er sich mit Hikaru Nakamura und Dmitry Jakovenko in Khanty-Mansisyk erneut den ersten Platz, gewann damit den FIDE Grand Prix 2014-2015 und qualifizierte sich dadurch für das Kandidatenturnier 2016.

    Caruana Fide Grand Prix 2014-2015
    Caruana zeigt seinen GP Pokal. | Foto © Kirill Merkurev.

    Caruana, der nun für das Kandidatenturnier qualifiziert war, hat seine doppelte Staatsbürgerschaft genutzt, um zum amerikanischen Verband zurückzukehren. Er hatte die Hoffnung, gemeinsam mit Hikaru Nakamura und Wesley So bei der Olympiade eine Medaille zu gewinnen.

    Noch im selben Jahr gewann Caruana erneut das Dortmunder Sparkassen Chess Meeting und erreichte beim FIDE Weltcup in Baku, nachdem er Rauf Mamedov und Anton Kovalyov eliminiert hatte, die vierte Runde. Dort verlor er allerdings gegen Shakhriyar Mamedyarov.

    Das Jahr 2016 begann Caruana wieder in Holland und wurde beim Tata Steel Chess Turnier erneut Zweiter hinter Magnus Carlsen. Danach reiste der mittlerweile 23-jährige Caruana als Nummer 3 der Welt zum Kandidatenturnier.

    Das Kandidatenturnier 2016 wurde in Moskau ausgetragen und neben Caruana spielten dort Viswanathan Anand, Sergey Karjakin, Peter Svidler, Hikaru Nakamura, Veselin Topalov, Anish Giri und Levon Aronian. Vor der letzten Runde lagen Caruana und Karjakin punktgleich in Führung und es stand das direkte Duell um den Turniersieg an. Da Karjakin aber mehr Partien gewonnen hatte, genügte dem Russen, der mit Weiß spielen durfte, ein Remis und Caruana musste die Partie mit Schwarz gewinnen um gegen Magnus Carlsen um die Weltmeisterschaft spielen zu dürfen. Letztendlich gewann dann aber Karjakin die Partie und somit auch das Turnier.

    Vorbereitung auf die Weltmeisterschaft 2018

    Obwohl das Kandidatenturnier nicht gewinnen konnte, war 2016 ein großartiges Jahr für Caruana. Er gewann seine allererste US-Schachmeisterschaft und verhalf den Vereinigten Staaten bei der Schacholympiade in Baku zur ersten Goldmedaille seit 1976. Caruana gewann dabei auch noch eine Einzel-Bronzemedaille für seine Leistung am ersten Brett.

    Fabiano Caruana Chess Olympiad
    Fabiano Caruana gewann bei der Schacholympiade 2016 Mannschaftsgold. | Foto © Maria Emelianova/Chess.com

    Durch seinen zweiten Platz bei den London Chess Classics, sicherte sich Caruana den dritten Platz bei der Grand Chess Tour 2016.

    2017 gewann Caruana sein erstes Speed Chess Championship Match gegen die viermalige Damen-Weltmeisterin Hou Yifan mit 19-9.

    In der PRO Chess League verhalf der Amerikaner dann den Montreal Chess Brahs zum Sieg der Atlantic Division, verlor aber dann mit seiner Mannschaft das Halbfinale gegen die Saint Louis Arch Bishops.

    Als er Vladimir Kramnik in der ersten Runde des Isle Of Man International 2017 besiegte, hatte er seine Qualifiaktion für das Kandidatenturnier 2018 über die Elo-Wertung fast schon sicher in der Tasche.

    Caruana Isle of Man Chess 2017
    Fabiano Caruana besiegte Kramnik in der ersten Runde des Isle of Man 2017. | Foto © Maria Emelianova/Chess.com

    Als Kramnik später eine Wild Card für das Kandidatenturnier zugesprochen bekam, stand fest, dass sowohl Fabiano Caruana als auch Wesley So über ihr Rating für das Kandidatenturnier qualifiziert waren.

    Am Ende des Jahres gewann Caruana die London Chess Classics, nachdem er Ian Nepomniachtchi in einem Blitz Tiebreak besiegt hatte.

    Caruana London Chess Classic 2017
    2017 gewann Caruana die London Chess Classics und wurde bei der Grand Chess Tour fünfter. | Foto © Maria Emelianova/Chess.com

    Bei seinem zweiten Kandidatenturnier, welches in Berlin stattfand, machte Caruana das meiste aus seinen Möglichkeiten und besiegte in den letzten beiden Runden Levon Aronian und Alexander Grischuk und sicherte sich damit den Platz des Herausforderers von Magnus Carlsen bei der Schachweltmeisterschaft 2018.

    Caruana
    Caruana nach seinem Sieg beim Kandidatenturnier 2018 | Foto © Maria Emelianova/Chess.com

    Nach seinem Sieg beim Kandidatenturnier hatte Caruana einen beeindruckenden Lauf und gewann sowohl die GRENKE Chess Classics als auch das Norway Chess vor Magnus Carlsen.

    Caruana - So Norway Chess
    Caruana gewann das Norway Chess Turnier vor Carlsen mit 5/8 Punkten. Foto © Maria Emelianova/Chess.com

    Bei den US Chess Championships 2018 wurde er zweiter und beim Sinquefield Cup teilte er sich mit Carlsen und Aronian den ersten Platz. Ein Tiebreak Match gegen Wesley So um einen Startplatz bei den London Chess Classics gewann er mit 1.5-0.5.

    Kurz vor der Weltmeisterschaft in London führte Caruana die USA noch zu einer Silbermedaille bei der Schacholympiade in Batumi, Georgien und nahm an der Speed Chess Championship 2018 teil, wo er allerdings schon in der ersten Runde gegen Levon Aronian ausschied.

    Nach all den Jahren harter Arbeit, bekam Caruana dann 2018 endlich die Chance, gegen Magnus Carlsen um die Schachweltmeisterschaft zu spielen.

    Fabiano Caruana World Chess Championship Challenger
    Dank des Gewinns des Kandidatenturniers erhielt Caruana das Recht, Schachweltmeister Magnus Carlsen herauszufordern. | Foto © Maria Emelianova/Chess.com

    Bekanntermaßen endeten dort alle 12 klassischen Partien Remis und Carlsen sicherte sich den Titel durch 3 Siege in allen 3 Schnellschach-Partien.

    Nach der WM

    Einen Monat später wurde Caruana bei den London Chess Classics Dritter, was bedeutete, dass er auch die Grand Chess Tour 2018 auf Platz drei beendete.

    In der PRO Chess League 2019 spielt Fabiano Caruana für die Saint Louis Arch Bishops in der Atlantic Division und versucht mit seinem neuen Team, das Finale in San Francisco zu erreichen.

    Pro Chess League 2019
    Fabiano Caruana spielt 2019 für die Saint Louis Arch Bishops in der Pro Chess League.

    Beste Partie


    Die beliebtesten Eröffnungen

    Partien

GM Fabiano Caruana

Full name
Fabiano Caruana
Born
Jul 30, 1992 (age 27)‎
Place of birth
Miami, Florida, EUA
Federation
United States

Rating

Bio

The prodigy who broke the record for Hikaru Nakamura of America's youngest great master, Fabiano Caruana climbed the mountain of chess and reached the summit. This young great master has had a ranking as high as number 2 in the world and has won numerous tournaments in his career. In 2018, the American faced Magnus Carlsen at the World Chess Championship in London in 2018, losing in the quick playoffs.

    Early Childhood

    Fabiano Caruana was born on July 30, 1992 in Miami, Florida. His natural grasp for chess was discovered at the age of 5 in an after school chess program when he moved to New York. His first chess coach was National Master Bruce Pandolfini, a well known chess author. Caruana later was coached by Grandmasters Miron Sher and Alexander Chernin.

    He became a FIDE Master in 2002 and an International Master in 2006. A year later, at the age of 14 years, 11 months, and 20 days, Caruana became the youngest Grandmaster in the United States and Italy. Shortly after earning the Grandmaster title, he won the Italian Chess Championship, becoming the youngest ever Italian Champion.

    Teenage Years

    The Italian Grandmaster kicked off 2008 by winning the Tata Steel Group C section, earning him a spot in 2009's Group B event. Caruana then made his Olympiad debut in the same year, representing Italy from top board in the Dresden Olympiad. After a 7.5/11 finish, Caruana then won the Italian Championship again, earning back-to-back titles. He finished the year entering the world's top 100 players in October, with a rating of 2640.

    In 2009, Caruana won the Tata Steel Group B after beating English Grandmaster Nigel Short in the final round. After strong performances in both the Russian Team Championships and the Mitropa Cup, Caruana was nominated to play in the 2009 World Cup in Khanty-Mansiysk, where he beat Lazaro Bruzon, Lenier Dominguez, and Evgeny Alekseev before losing to Vugar Gashimov.

    After missing the 2009 Italian Chess Championships to compete in the FIDE World Cup, Caruana won the event twice more in 2010 and 2011, his fourth and final time winning the Italian Championship. By then end of 2011, Caruana had jumped in the world rankings, reaching #17 in the live rankings, and a rating well over 2700.

    Rise to the World's Top Ten

    In 2012, Caruana continued to improve. After a second place tie in the A section of the Tata Steel Tournament, Caruana went on a streak, winning first in the Reykjavik Open, Sigeman and Co Chess Tournament, and the Dortmund Sparkassen Chess Meeting. Within the same calendar year, Caruana also finished second in both the Tal Memorial and the Grand Slam Chess Final. By January 2013, Caruana was ranked fifth in the world rankings, with a rating of 2781.

    Caruana spent much of 2013 trying to qualify for the 2014 Candidates Tournament through the FIDE Grand Prix. After placing third in Zug, second in Thessaloniki, and winning the circuit in Paris, Caruana had amassed 380 points, narrowly missing out on automatic qualification to the Candidates Tournament.

    In 2014, Caruana finished second in both Shamkir Chess and Norway Chess, behind Carlsen in each event.

    Caruana
    Caruana at the Shamkir Chess Tournament. | Photo © Maria Emelianova/Chess.com

    His most memorable win of 2014 came against Ukrainian Grandmaster Ruslan Ponomariov in the Dortmund Sparkassen Chess Meeting, a tournament Caruana ultimately won:

    Caruana won a silver medal in the World Rapid Championships in Dubai, just a half point behind first place. He then represented Italy from first board once again at the 2014 Olympiad in Tromso, Norway.

    Upon the conclusion of the Olympiad, Caruana then returned to the United States, where he won the Sinquefield Cup with his memorable seven game winning streak.

    Caruana Sinquefield Chess Cup 2017
    Caruana was even surprised himself with the amazing winning streak achieved. | Photo © Maria Emelianova/Chess.com

    With a performance rating of 3080, Caruana arguably had the best tournament performance in chess history, beating Hikaru Nakamura, Levon Aronian, Maxime Vachier-Lagrave, Vesilin Topalov, and most notably, reigning World Champion Magnus Carlsen. Each of the players in the double round robin were ranked in the world top ten prior to the tournament, and the 8.5/10 final result saw Caruana's rating reach 2844, his personal best rating. At the conclusion of the event, Caruana was the second highest rated player in the world.

    The 2016 Candidates Tournament

    After a historic performance at the Sinquefield Cup, Caruana returned to the FIDE Grand Prix, determined to qualify for the Candidates Tournament in 2016. In October 2014, Caruana tied for first with Boris Gelfand in the opening leg in Baku, Azerbaijan. To close the year, Caruana tied for fourth in Tashkent.

    In May 2015, Caruana tied for first in Khanty-Mansisyk alongside Hikaru Nakamura and Dmitry Jakovenko, the final leg of the FIDE Grand Prix. The tournament win meant that Caruana won clear first in the 2014-2015 FIDE Grand Prix, and thus automatic qualification for the 2016 Candidates Tournament.

    Caruana Fide Grand Prix 2014-2015
    Caruana showing his GP trophy (and a smaller copy of it). | Photo © Kirill Merkurev.

    Now qualified for the Candidates Tournament, Caruana used his dual citizenship to switch back to the American federation. When he joined the American team, Caruana joined Hikaru Nakamura and Wesley So, with the hopes of winning an Olympiad for the United States.

    In the same year, Caruana won clear first in the Dortmund Sparkassen Chess Meeting, and reached the fourth round of the FIDE World Cup in Baku, eliminating both Rauf Mamedov and Anton Kovalyov before falling short against Shakhriyar Mamedyarov.

    In 2016, Caruana started the year taking second at the Tata Steel Chess Tournament, finishing just a point behind Magnus Carlsen. The twenty-three year old entered the Candidates Tournament as the third best player in the world.

    The 2016 Candidates Tournament was held in Moscow, Russia, and alongside Caruana, featured the world's best players: Viswanathan Anand, Sergey Karjakin, Peter Svidler, Hikaru Nakamura, Veselin Topalov, Anish Giri, and Levon Aronian. Needing to win the Candidates to clinch a match with Magnus Carlsen in the World Chess Championships, Caruana headed into the final round tied for first with his opponent, Karjakin. Despite the level score, the Candidates tiebreaker (most wins) meant that Caruana had to play for a win with Black in order to win the Tournament, as a draw would favor Karjakin. The Russian Grandmaster ultimately beat Caruana, and became the 2016 World Chess Championship Challenger.

    Preparation for the 2018 World Chess Championship

    Despite falling short in the Candidates Tournament, 2016 turned still out to be a great year for Caruana. He won his first ever U.S. Chess Championships, and returned to Baku to help the United States win its first Olympiad Gold Medal since 1976. The Americans edged out the Ukrainians on tiebreaks, and Caruana won an individual bronze medal for this performance on first board.

    Fabiano Caruana Chess Olympiad
    Fabiano Caruana helped his team win the Gold at the 2016 Chess Olympiad. | Photo © Maria Emelianova/Chess.com

    With his second place finish in the London Chess Classic, Caruana finished third in the 2016 Grand Chess Tour.

    In 2017, Caruana won his first chess.com Speed Chess Championship match against four-time Women's World Champion, Hou Yifan, 19-9.

    The American Grandmaster played for the Montreal Chessbrahs in the inaugural year of the PRO Chess League. Caruana helped the team win the Atlantic Division, but the Chessbrahs were eliminated in the semifinals by the Saint Louis Arch Bishops.

    Caruana nearly ensured qualification to the Candidates Tournament by rating when he beat Vladimir Kramnik in the first round of the 2017 Isle Of Man International.

    Caruana Isle of Man Chess 2017
    Fabiano Caruana defeated Kramnik in the 1st round of the Isle of Man 2017. | Photo © Maria Emelianova/Chess.com

    When Kramnik was later announced as the 2018 Candidates Wild Card, both Fabiano Caruana and Wesley So qualified to the Candidates tournament by rating.

    To finish the year, Caruana won the London Chess Classic after beating Ian Nepomniachtchi in a blitz tiebreak match.

    Caruana London Chess Classic 2017
    Caruana won the 2017 London Chess Classic and finished 5th in the 2017 Grand Chess Tour. | Photo © Maria Emelianova/Chess.com

    Now in his second Candidates Tournament, Caruana made the most of his opportunity in Berlin. After losing a game late to the 2016 World Championship Challenger Sergey Karjakin, Fabiano Caruana beat both Levon Aronian and Alexander Grischuk in the final two rounds to secure his berth into the 2018 World Chess Championship Match against Magnus Carlsen.

    Caruana
    Caruana was very happy after being able to classify to the World Chess Championship 2018 against Magnus Carlsen. | Photo © Maria Emelianova/Chess.com

    Following his Candidates Tournament win, Caruana had an impressive string of results. The American won both the GRENKE Chess Classic and Norway Chess, finishing ahead of Carlsen in both events.

    Caruana - So Norway Chess
    Caruana made an impressive performance in the Norway Chess Tournament, finishing ahead of Carlsen with 5/8 points. Photo © Maria Emelianova/Chess.com

    Caruana placed second in the 2018 US Chess Championships, and tied for first in the Sinquefield Cup (with Carlsen and Aronian). In jointly winning the Sinquefield Cup, Caruana played a tiebreak match with Wesley So for the final spot in the London Chess Classic, which he won, 1.5-0.5.

    Prior to the World Championship Match in London, Caruana would lead the United States to a silver medal in the Olympiad in Batumi, Georgia.

    He also participated in the 2018 Speed Chess Championship but was eliminated in the first round by Levon Aronian.

    After years of hard work to win the Candidates Tournament, Caruana finally got his chance to play Magnus Carlsen in the World Chess Championship.

    Fabiano Caruana World Chess Championship Challenger
    Thanks to winning the Candidates Tournament, Caruana won the right to challenge Magnus Carlsen, the World Chess Champion. | Photo © Maria Emelianova/Chess.com

    The match famously saw each of the twelve games end in draws, and Carlsen claim the tiebreak by winning each of the three rapid games.

    Post-World Championship Performances

    A month later, Caruana won third place in the London Chess Classic after beating Levon Aronian in the third place match. The result also meant that Caruana finished third overall in the Grand Chess Tour.

    In the 2019 PRO Chess League Season, Fabiano Caruana is currently playing for the Saint Louis Arch Bishops in the Atlantic Division, guiding the team to another appearance in the PRO Chess League Live Semi Finals in San Francisco.

    Pro Chess League 2019
    Fabiano Caruana is competing with the Saint Louis Arch Bishops at the 2019 Pro Chess League.

    Best Game


    Most Played Openings

    Games