GM Fabiano Caruana

Nom complet
Fabiano Caruana
Date de naissance
Jul 30, 1992 (âge 27)‎
Lieu de naissance
Miami, Florida, EUA
Fédération
États-Unis

Classement

Bio

Fabiano Caruana a gravi les échelons jusqu'au presque sommet, il s'est tout d'abord distingué en faisant tomber le record américain de précocité de Nakamura quant à l'obtention du titre de Grand Maître. Incroyablement talentueux, ce jeune joueur a, à ce jour, atteint le rang de numéro 2 mondial et remporté de nombreux tournois dans sa carrière. En 2018, il a affronté Magnus Carlsen lors du match de Championnat du Monde à Londres, dans lequel il s'est incliné durant les départages en rapide.

Type Classement Meilleur classement

Rang mondial

Classique 2828 2844 2
Rapide 2813 2858 3
Blitz 2806 2814 7

Bio

    Enfance 

    Fabiano Caruana est né le 30 juillet 1992 à Miami en Floride. Son aptitude innée pour les échecs s'est révélée dès l'âge de 5 ans lors d'activités extra-scolaires après qu'il ait emménagé à New York. Son premier entraîneur fut le Maître National Bruce Pandolfini, auteur reconnu dans le monde des échecs. Les Grands Maîtres Miron Sher et Alexander Chernin prirent ensuite le relais pour accompagner le prodige italien dans sa progression.

    Caruana est devenu Maître FIDE en 2002 et Maître International en 2006. L'année suivante, à 14 ans, 11 mois et 20 jours, il fut sacré plus jeune Grand Maître de l'histoire aussi bien américaine qu'italienne. Peu de temps après cet accomplissement, il remporta le championnat d'Italie, devenant ainsi le plus jeune champion italien de tous les temps. 

    Adolescence

    Le Grand Maître italien commença 2008 sur les chapeaux de roues en remportant le Groupe C du Tata Steel, obtenant ainsi son ticket pour le Groupe B l'année suivante. Il enchaîna ensuite avec ses débuts aux Olympiades et représenta l'Italie au premier échiquier à Dresden. Avec un score de 7.5 sur 11, il remporta de nouveau le Championnat d'Italie, réalisant donc le doublé. Il termina l'année en entrant dans le top 100 mondial avec un élo de 2640 publié en octobre.

    En 2009, Caruana termina premier du groupe B du Tata Steel grâce à un succès sur Nigel Short dans l'ultime ronde. Après d'excellentes performances au Championnat de Russie par équipes et à la Mitropa Cup, il fut désigné pour participer à la Coupe du Monde de 2009 à Khanty-Mansiysk, où il vint à bout successivement de Lazaro Bruzon, Lenier Dominguez, et Evgeny Alekseev avant de buter sur Vugar Gashimov.

    Après avoir dû renoncer au Championnat d'Italie 2009 pour s'aligner à la Coupe du Monde FIDE, Caruana s'est de nouveau imposé deux fois en 2010 et 2011, année de son quatrième et dernier sacre italien.

    A la fin de l'année 2011, Caruana a fait un bond dans le classement mondial, atteignant la 17é place au élo fictif avec plus de 2700.

    Ascension jusqu'au top dix mondial

    En 2012, Caruana poursuivit sa progression. Après avoir partagé la première place du Groupe A du Tata Steel, il entama une impressionnante série de succès, d'abord avec une victoire à l'Open de Reykjavik, puis au Tournoi Sigeman and Co et enfin aux Rencontres Echiquéennes de Dortmund. Au milieu de tout ça, il a également terminé second du Mémorial Tal et au final du Grand Slam Chess.

    En janvier 2013, Caruana était classé 5é mondial avec un élo de 2781. Il passa la majorité de l'année à tenter de se qualifier au Tournoi des Candidats 2014 par le biais des Grands Prix. Grâce à sa troisième place à Zug, sa seconde à Thessaloniki et sa victoire sur le circuit parisien, Caruana cumula un total de 380 points, manquant de justesse une qualification automatique.

    En 2014, Il prit la seconde place à Shamkir Chess et au Norway Chess, à chaque fois juste derrière Carlsen.

    Caruana
    Caruana au Tournoi de Shamkir| Photo © Maria Emelianova/Chess.com

    Sa victoire la plus mémorable s'est produite en 2014 contre le Grand Maître ukrainien Ruslan Ponomariov, lors du tournoi de Dortmund que Caruana remporta par ailleurs :

    Caruana parvint à glaner la médaille d'argent au Championnat du Monde de Rapides à Dubai, à seulement un demi-point de la première place. Il représenta ensuite de nouveau le premier échiquier de l'équipe d'Italie aux Olympiades  de 2014 à Tromso en Norvège, avant de filer dès la fin de la compétition aux Etats-Unis pour disputer la Sinquefield Cup où il signa sa légendaire série de sept victoires d'affilée.

    Caruana Sinquefield Chess Cup 2017
    Caruana était le premier surpris par son incroyable série de victoires | Photo © Maria Emelianova/Chess.com

    Avec une performance à 3080, Caruana était sans aucun doute l'auteur d'une des meilleures performances de l'histoire, battant successivement Hikaru Nakamura, Levon Aronian, Maxime Vachier-Lagrave, Vesilin Topalov, et surtout, le Champion du Monde en titre, Magnus Carlsen. Chacun des joueurs du tournoi à double ronde était membre du top dix mondial et son score final de 8.5/10, d'autant plus impressionnant, permit à Fabi d'atteindre le élo de 2844, soit son record personnel ! A l'issue du tournoi, il devenait logiquement le numéro 2 mondial.

    Le Tournoi des Candidats de 2016

    Après sa performance historique à la Sinquefield Cup, Caruana reprit part aux Grands Prix FIDE, déterminé à se qualifier pour les Candidats de 2016. En octobre 2014, il finit premier ex-equo avec Boris Gelfand lors de la première étape à Bakou en Azerbaïdjan tandis qu'il dut se contenter de la quatrième position à Tashkent, en fin d'année.

    En mai 2015, Caruana partagea la première place à Khanty-Mansisyk avec Hikaru Nakamura et Dmitry Jakovenko, lors de l'étape finale des Grands Prix FIDE. Cette performance lui assura la première place au classement cumulé des Grands Prix FIDE de 2014-2015 et donc une qualification automatique au Tournoi des Candidats de 2016.

    Caruana Fide Grand Prix 2014-2015
    Caruana brandissant son trophée du Grand Prix (et sa version miniature). | Photo © Kirill Merkurev.

    Une fois qualifié pour le Tournoi des Candidats, Caruana a fait valoir sa double nationalité afin de retourner auprès de la fédération d'échecs américaine. Il rejoignit donc une forte équipe, déjà composée d'Hikaru Nakamura et de Wesley So, avec l'espoir de s'imposer aux Olympiades sous le drapeau américain.

    La même année, il remporta le Tournoi de Dortmund et atteignit le quatrième tour de la Coupe du Monde FIDE à Bakou, éliminant au passage Rauf Mamedov et Anton Kovalyov avant d'être sorti par Shakhriyar Mamedyarov.

    En 2016, Caruana démarra l'année par une seconde place au Tata Steel, un point derrière Magnus Carlsen. 

    Le prétendant de vingt-trois ans avait le statut de numéro trois mondial, au départ du Tournoi des Candidats qui s'est déroulé à Moscou en Russie. A ses côtés, prenaient part les meilleurs joueurs du monde : Viswanathan Anand, Sergey Karjakin, Peter Svidler, Hikaru Nakamura, Veselin Topalov, Anish Giri, et Levon Aronian, avec pour même objectif ultime de défier Magnus Carlsen pour la couronne mondiale. A l'approche de la dernière ronde, Caruana partageait la tête avec son futur adversaire Karjakin. Le système de départages prévu (plus grand nombre de victoires) obligeait Fabi à jouer pour le gain avec les pièces noires, une nulle suffisant à Karjakin. Prenant tous les risques, Caruana finit même par s'incliner et le Grand Maître russe devint alors le challenger officiel au Championnat du Monde de 2016.

    Préparation au match de Championnat du Monde de 2018

    Bien qu'il ait échoué in extremis au Tournoi des Candidats, 2016 s'est révélée être une année exceptionnelle pour Caruana. Il a, avant toute chose, remporté son premier Championnat U.S, puis est retourné à Bakou aider l'équipe des Etats-Unis à arracher sa première médaille d'or aux Olympiades depuis 1976. Les américains ont devancé les ukrainiens au départage et Caruana a glané la médaille de bronze pour sa performance au premier échiquier. 

    Fabiano Caruana Chess Olympiad
    Fabiano Caruana a contribué à la médaille d'or de son équipe aux Olympiades de 2016. | Photo © Maria Emelianova/Chess.com

    Grâce à sa seconde place au London Chess Classic, Caruana paracheva son Grand Chess Tour 2016 à la troisième place.

    En 2017, Il gagna son premier Speed Chess match sur Chess.com contre la joueuse chinoise, quatre fois championne du Monde, Hou Yifan, 19-9.

    Le Grand-Maître américain a joué sous les couleurs de l'équipe des Montreal Chessbrahs lors de l'année inaugurale de la PRO Chess League. Caruana a grandement contribué au succès des siens en division atlantique mais les Chessbrahs furent finalement éliminés en demi-finale par les Saint Louis Arch Bishops.

    Caruana assura pratiquement sa qualification au Tournoi des Candidats 2018 grâce à son élo en se défaisant de Vladimir Kramnik à la première ronde du tournoi international Isle Of Man.

    Caruana Isle of Man Chess 2017
    Fabiano Caruana bat Kramnik lors de la 1ere ronde du tournoi Isle of Man 2017. | Photo © Maria Emelianova/Chess.com

    Quand Kramnik fut désigné plus tard comme la Wild Card officielle de l'édition 2018, Fabiano Caruana et Wesley So se retrouvaient alors tous deux qualifiés au élo.

     Caruana termina l'année par un succès au London Chess Classic en venant à bout de Ian Nepomniachtchi en blitz de départage.

    Caruana London Chess Classic 2017
    Caruana vainqueur du London Chess Classic de 2017 et 5é du Grand Chess Tour. | Photo © Maria Emelianova/Chess.com

    Fort de son expérience de 2016, Caruana a su saisir sa chance à Berlin lors de son second Tournoi des Candidats, Après avoir perdu une partie importante en fin de tournoi contre Sergey Karjakin, le challenger de 2016, Fabiano Caruana a battu coup sur coup Levon Aronian et Alexander Grischuk dans les deux dernières rondes, sécurisant son ticket pour le Match du Titre Mondial face à Magnus Carlsen. 

    Caruana
    Caruana, radieux après sa qualification pour le match de Championnat du Monde 2018 face à Magnus Carlsen. | Photo © Maria Emelianova/Chess.com

    Caruana, en pleine confiance, continua sur sa lancée avec une série impressionnante de résultats. L'américain remporta le GRENKE Chess Classic et le Norway Chess, devant Carlsen à chaque fois !

    Caruana - So Norway Chess
    Caruana a réalisé une performance impressionnante au Norway Chess, terminant devant Carlsen avec 5/8 points. Photo © Maria Emelianova/Chess.com

    Caruana obtint le titre de vice-Champion des Etats-Unis 2018 et partagea la première place à la Sinquefield Cup (avec Carlsen et Aronian). Cette dernière performance lui offrit le droit de disputer un match de départage avec Wesley So pour la place finale du London Chess Classic, qu'il remporta 1.5-0.5.

    Avant le match de Championnat du Monde de Londres, Caruana mena les Etats-Unis à une médaille d'argent aux Olympiades de Batumi, en Géorgie.

    Il a également participé au  Championnat de Speed Chess 2018 mais fut éliminé dès le premier tour par Levon Aronian.

    Après des années de dur labeur pour remporter le Tournoi des Candidats, Caruana tenait enfin sa chance de défier Magnus Carlsen au Championnat du Monde.

    Fabiano Caruana World Chess Championship Challenger
    Grâce à sa victoire aux Candidats, Caruana est devenu le challenger officiel du champion du monde Magnus Carlsen. | Photo © Maria Emelianova/Chess.com

    Au désarroi général, le match a vu chacune de ses parties se solder par la nulle. Carlsen domina ensuite largement les départages en remportant chacune des trois parties.

    Performances d'après-Championnat du Monde

    Un mois plus tard, Caruana a vaincu Levon Aronian dans un match pour la troisième place du London Chess Classic. Ce résultat lui garantit également la place de troisième au général du Grand Chess Tour.

    Lors de la saison 2019 de PRO Chess League, Fabiano Caruana joue actuellement pour l'équipe des Saint Louis Arch Bishops dans la division atlantique, menant une nouvelle les siens à une demi-finale qui doit se dérouler en live à San Francisco.

    Pro Chess League 2019
    Fabiano Caruana est membre de l'équipe des Saint Louis Arch Bishops pour la Pro Chess League 2019.

    Meilleure partie


    Ouvertures les plus fréquentes

    Parties

GM Fabiano Caruana

Full name
Fabiano Caruana
Born
Jul 30, 1992 (age 27)‎
Place of birth
Miami, Florida, USA
Federation
United States

Rating

Bio

The prodigy who broke the record held by Hikaru Nakamura for America's youngest chess grandmaster, Fabiano Caruana has climbed the mountain of chess and reached the summit. This young great master has had a ranking as high as number-two in the world and has won numerous tournaments in his career. In 2018 the American faced Magnus Carlsen at the World Chess Championship in London in 2018, losing in the quick playoffs.

    Early Childhood

    Caruana was born on July 30, 1992 in Miami, Florida. His natural grasp for chess was discovered at the age of five in an after-school chess program when he moved to New York. His first chess coach was National Master Bruce Pandolfini, a well-known chess author. Caruana later was coached by GMs Miron Sher and Alexander Chernin.

    He became a FIDE master in 2002 and an international master in 2006. A year later, at the age of 14 years, 11 months, and 20 days, Caruana became the youngest grandmaster in the United States and Italy. Shortly after earning the grandmaster title, he won the Italian Chess Championship, becoming the youngest ever Italian champion.

    Teenage Years

    The Italian grandmaster kicked off 2008 by winning the Tata Steel Group C section, earning him a spot in 2009's Group B event. Caruana then made his Olympiad debut in the same year, representing Italy from top board in the Dresden Olympiad. After a 7.5/11 finish, Caruana then won the Italian Championship again, earning back-to-back titles. He finished the year entering the world's top-100 players in October with a rating of 2640.

    In 2009 Caruana won the Tata Steel Group B after beating English grandmaster Nigel Short in the final round. After strong performances in both the Russian Team Championships and the Mitropa Cup, Caruana was nominated to play in the 2009 World Cup in Khanty-Mansiysk, where he beat Lazaro Bruzon, Lenier Dominguez, and Evgeny Alekseev before losing to Vugar Gashimov.

    After missing the 2009 Italian Chess Championships to compete in the FIDE World Cup, Caruana won the event twice more in 2010 and 2011, his fourth and final time winning the Italian Championship. By then end of 2011, Caruana had jumped in the world rankings, reaching number 17 in the live rankings, and a rating well over 2700.

    Rise To The World's Top 10

    In 2012 Caruana continued to improve. After a second-place tie in the A section of the Tata Steel Tournament, Caruana went on a streak, winning first in the Reykjavik Open, Sigeman and Co. Chess Tournament, and the Dortmund Sparkassen Chess Meeting. In the same year, Caruana also finished second in both the Tal Memorial and the Grand Slam Chess Final. By January 2013, Caruana was ranked fifth in the world rankings with a rating of 2781.

    Caruana spent much of 2013 trying to qualify for the 2014 Candidates tournament through the FIDE Grand Prix. After placing third in Zug, second in Thessaloniki, and winning the circuit in Paris, Caruana had amassed 380 points, narrowly missing an automatic qualification to the Candidates.

    In 2014 Caruana finished second in both Shamkir Chess and Norway Chess, behind Carlsen in each event.

    Caruana
    Caruana at the Shamkir Chess Tournament. Photo: Maria Emelianova/Chess.com.

    His most memorable win of 2014 came against Ukrainian grandmaster Ruslan Ponomariov in the Dortmund Sparkassen Chess Meeting, a tournament Caruana ultimately won:

    Caruana won a silver medal in the World Rapid Championships in Dubai, just a half-point behind the first place. He then represented Italy from first board once again at the 2014 Olympiad in Tromso, Norway.

    Upon the conclusion of the Olympiad, Caruana then returned to the United States, where he won the Sinquefield Cup with his memorable seven-game winning streak.

    Caruana Sinquefield Chess Cup 2017
    Caruana was even surprised himself with the amazing winning streak. Photo: Maria Emelianova/Chess.com.

    With a performance rating of 3080, Caruana arguably had the best tournament performance in chess history, beating Nakamura, Levon Aronian, Maxime Vachier-Lagrave, Vesilin Topalov, and most notably, World Champion Carlsen. Each player in the double round-robin was ranked in the world top-ten prior to the tournament, and the 8.5/10 final result saw Caruana's rating reach 2844, his personal best rating. At the conclusion of the event, Caruana was the second-highest rated player in the world.

    The 2016 Candidates Tournament

    After a historic performance at the Sinquefield Cup, Caruana returned to the FIDE Grand Prix, determined to qualify for the Candidates tournament in 2016. In October 2014, Caruana tied for first with Boris Gelfand in the opening leg in Baku, Azerbaijan. To close the year, Caruana tied for fourth in Tashkent.

    In May 2015, Caruana tied for first in Khanty-Mansisyk alongside Nakamura and Dmitry Jakovenko, the final leg of the FIDE Grand Prix. The tournament win meant that Caruana won clear first in the 2014-2015 FIDE Grand Prix and thus earned an automatic qualification for the 2016 Candidates tournament.

    Caruana Fide Grand Prix 2014-2015
    Caruana showing his GP trophy (and a smaller copy of it). Photo: Kirill Merkurev.

    Now qualified for the Candidates tournament, Caruana used his dual citizenship to switch back to the American federation. When he joined the American team, Caruana joined Nakamura and Wesley So, with the hopes of winning an Olympiad for the United States.

    In the same year, Caruana won clear first in the Dortmund Sparkassen Chess Meeting and reached the fourth round of the FIDE World Cup in Baku, eliminating both Rauf Mamedov and Anton Kovalyov before falling short against Shakhriyar Mamedyarov.

    Caruana started the year 2016 by taking second at the Tata Steel Chess Tournament, finishing just a point behind Carlsen. The 23-year-old entered the Candidates tournament as the third-best player in the world.

    The 2016 Candidates tournament was held in Moscow, and alongside Caruana, featured the world's best players: Viswanathan Anand, Sergey Karjakin, Peter Svidler, Nakamura, Topalov, Anish Giri, and Aronian. Needing to win the Candidates to clinch a match with Carlsen in the World Chess Championships, Caruana headed into the final round tied for first with his opponent, Karjakin. Despite the level score, the Candidates tiebreaker (most wins) meant that Caruana had to play for a win with black in order to win the tournament, as a draw would favor Karjakin. The Russian grandmaster ultimately beat Caruana and became the 2016 World Chess Championship Challenger.

    Preparation For The 2018 World Chess Championship

    Despite falling short in the Candidates tournament, 2016 turned still out to be a great year for Caruana. He won his first-ever U.S. Chess Championships and returned to Baku to help the United States win its first Olympiad Gold Medal since 1976. The Americans edged out the Ukrainians on tiebreaks, and Caruana won an individual bronze medal for this performance on first board.

    Fabiano Caruana Chess Olympiad
    Fabiano Caruana helped his team win the gold at the 2016 Chess Olympiad. Photo: Maria Emelianova/Chess.com.

    With his second-place finish in the London Chess Classic, Caruana finished third in the 2016 Grand Chess Tour.

    In 2017 Caruana won his first chess.com Speed Chess Championship match against four-time Women's World Champion, Hou Yifan, 19-9.

    The American grandmaster played for the Montreal Chessbrahs in the inaugural year of the PRO Chess League. Caruana helped the team win the Atlantic Division, but the Chessbrahs were eliminated in the semifinals by the Saint Louis Arch Bishops.

    Caruana nearly ensured qualification to the Candidates tournament by rating when he beat Vladimir Kramnik in the first round of the 2017 Isle Of Man International.

    Caruana Isle of Man Chess 2017
    Fabiano Caruana defeated Kramnik in the first round of the Isle of Man 2017. Photo: Maria Emelianova/Chess.com.

    When Kramnik was later announced as the 2018 Candidates wild card, both Caruana and So qualified to the Candidates tournament by rating.

    To finish the year, Caruana won the London Chess Classic after beating Ian Nepomniachtchi in a blitz tiebreak match.

    Caruana London Chess Classic 2017
    Caruana won the 2017 London Chess Classic and finished fifth in the 2017 Grand Chess Tour. Photo: Maria Emelianova/Chess.com.

    Now in his second Candidates Tournament, Caruana made the most of his opportunity in Berlin. After losing a game late to 2016 World Championship Challenger Sergey Karjakin, Caruana beat both Aronian and Alexander Grischuk in the final two rounds to secure his berth into the 2018 World Chess Championship Match against Carlsen.

    Caruana
    Caruana was very happy after being able to classify to the World Chess Championship 2018 against Carlsen. Photo: Maria Emelianova/Chess.com.

    Following his Candidates tournament win, Caruana had an impressive string of results. The American won both the GRENKE Chess Classic and Norway Chess, finishing ahead of Carlsen in both events.

    Caruana - So Norway Chess
    Caruana made an impressive performance in the Norway Chess Tournament, finishing ahead of Carlsen with 5/8 points. Photo: Maria Emelianova/Chess.com.

    Caruana placed second in the 2018 US Chess Championships and tied for first in the Sinquefield Cup (with Carlsen and Aronian). In jointly winning the Sinquefield Cup, Caruana played a tiebreak match with So for the final spot in the London Chess Classic, which he won 1.5-0.5.

    Prior to the World Championship Match in London, Caruana would lead the United States to a silver medal in the Olympiad in Batumi, Georgia.

    He also participated in the 2018 Speed Chess Championship but was eliminated in the first round by Aronian.

    After years of hard work to win the Candidates tournament, Caruana finally got his chance to play Carlsen in the World Chess Championship.

    Fabiano Caruana World Chess Championship Challenger
    Thanks to winning the Candidates tournament, Caruana won the right to challenge Carlsen, the world chess champion. Photo: Maria Emelianova/Chess.com.

    The match famously saw each of the twelve games end in draws, and Carlsen claimed the tiebreak by winning each of the three rapid games.

    Post-World Championship Performances

    A month later, Caruana won third place in the London Chess Classic after beating Aronian in the third-place match. The result also meant that Caruana finished third overall in the Grand Chess Tour.

    In the 2019 PRO Chess League Season, Caruana played for the Saint Louis Arch Bishops in the Atlantic Division, guiding the team to another appearance in the PRO Chess League Live Semi-Finals in San Francisco.

    Pro Chess League 2019
    Fabiano Caruana competed with the Saint Louis Arch Bishops in the 2019 Pro Chess League.

    Caruana started 2020 with a bang by winning his first Tata Steel Tournament. He won the tournament with a round to spare, ahead of Carlsen, So, Anand, Firouzja, Giri, and other world-class players. 

    Caruana was automatically placed in the 2020 Candidates tournament because he was the challenger in the 2018 cycle. He was considered a favorite heading into the tournament as the highest-rated player in the event. On March 26, 2020, the Candidates tournament was postponed due to Russia's travel restrictions and the COVID-19 pandemic. At the halfway point, Caruana is at 3.5/7 and is trailing Vachier-Lagrave and Nepomniachtchi by one point. 

    In May 2020 Caruana made it to the final of the Clutch Chess Champions Showdown after convincingly defeating Dominguez 15-3 in the first round. In the final, Caruana went 9-9 against So, who won on tiebreaks.

    Best Game


    Most Played Openings

    Games