Articles
2021 Speed Chess Championship Main Event: All The Information

2021 Speed Chess Championship Main Event: All The Information

CHESScom
| 41 | Other

GM Hikaru Nakamura won the Main Event of the 2021 Speed Chess Championship on December 19—winning his fourth consecutive title. Nakamura defeated GM Wesley So in the final by a dominating score of 23-8.

2021 SCC Main event

The event ran from November 8-December 19, 2021, and had a $100,000 prize fund.

All the information you need to know about this fast-paced event can be found below.


Players

2021 Speed Chess Championship Main Event Hikaru Nakamura

2021 Speed Chess Championship Main Event Fabiano Caruana

2021 Speed Chess Championship Main Event Ding Liren

2021 Speed Chess Championship Main Event Anish Giri

2021 Speed Chess Championship Main Event Alexander Grischuk

2021 Speed Chess Championship Main Event Wesley So

2021 Speed Chess Championship Main Event Maxime Vachier-Lagrave

2021 Speed Chess Championship Main Event Levon Aronian

2021 Speed Chess Championship Main Event Shakhriyar Mamedyarov

2021 Speed Chess Championship Main Event Peter Svidler

2021 Speed Chess Championship Main Event Jan-Krzysztof Duda

2021 Speed Chess Championship Main Event Daniil Dubov

2021 Speed Chess Championship Main Event Richard Rapport

2021 Speed Chess Championship Main Event Jeffery Xiong

2021 Speed Chess Championship Main Event Alexey Sarana

2021 Speed Chess Championship Main Event Nihal Sarin

2021 Speed Chess Championship Main Event Field

* Rapport replaced the original number-two seed GM Alireza Firouzja.

Bracket

2021 SCC Nakamura So

Schedule

The 2021 Speed Chess Championship Main Event began on November 8. With the beginning of the 2021 FIDE World Chess Championship, the Speed Chess Championship schedule was built around off-days in the World Championship.

Date Time Round Player 1 Player 2
Nov 8 9 a.m. PST/18:00 CET Round of 16 Anish Giri Jan-Krzysztof Duda
Nov 9 4 a.m. PST/13:00 CET Round of 16 Shakhriyar Mamedyarov Ding Liren
Nov 10 9 a.m. PST/18:00 CET Round of 16 Richard Rapport Alexey Sarana
Nov 11 7:30 a.m. PST/16:30 CET Round of 16 Alexander Grischuk Nihal Sarin
Nov 11 11:30 a.m. PST/20:30 CET Round of 16 Levon Aronian Daniil Dubov
Nov 12 9 a.m. PST/18:00 CET Round of 16 Hikaru Nakamura Peter Svidler
Nov 15 9 a.m. PST/18:00 CET Round of 16 Wesley So Jeffery Xiong
Nov 29 10 a.m. PST/19:00 CET Round of 16 Maxime Vachier-Lagrave Fabiano Caruana
Dec 2 7 a.m. PST/16:00 CET Quarterfinals Richard Rapport Nihal Sarin
Dec 6 6 a.m. PST/15:00 CET Quarterfinals Ding Liren Levon Aronian
Dec 6 10 a.m. PST/19:00 CET Quarterfinals Hikaru Nakamura Anish Giri
Dec 9 10 a.m. PST/19:00 CET Quarterfinals Wesley So Fabiano Caruana
Dec 13 1 p.m. PST/22:00 CET Semifinals Wesley So Nihal Sarin
Dec 16 2:30 p.m. PST/23:30 CET Semifinals Hikaru Nakamura Ding Liren
Dec 19 10 a.m. PST/19:00 CET Final Hikaru Nakamura Wesley So

The final of the 2021 Speed Chess Championship Main Event was on December 19.

2021 Speed Chess Championship Main Event Schedule

Format

The Main Event was a single-elimination knockout tournament bracket.

The time controls were:

  • 90 minutes of 5+1 blitz
  • 60 minutes of 3+1 blitz
  • 30 minutes of 1+1 bullet

If a match was tied after the 30-minute bullet round, four additional games at the same 1+1 time control were played. If the score remained tied, there was a single armageddon tiebreaker game, where White got five minutes and Black got four minutes with draw odds (i.e., Black advanced if the game was drawn). There was no increment in the armageddon game, and the player with the higher Chess.com blitz rating choose what color to play in it.

2021 Speed Chess Championship Main Event Format

Prize Fund

Each match winner at each given stage earned:

  • Round of 16: $2,000
  • Quarterfinals: $3,000
  • Semifinals: $6,000
  • Grand Finals: $10,000

Additionally, the following amounts were allocated based on players' winning percentage at the conclusion of the round.

  • Round of 16: $2,000
  • Quarterfinals: $3,000
  • Semifinals: $6,000
  • Grand Finals: $10,000

For example, if a player won in the semifinals by a score of 15-10 (60%), they received $6,000 for winning the semifinal match and an additional $3,600 (60% of $6,000) based on win percentage. The loser received the remaining $2,400.

2021 Speed Chess Championship Main Event Prizes

Total Prize Fund By Round

  • Round of 16: $32,000
  • Quarterfinals: $24,000
  • Semifinals: $24,000
  • Grand Finals: $20,000
  • GRAND TOTAL: $100,000

Broadcast

Chess.com broadcasted the Main Event of the 2021 Speed Chess Championship on all its platforms, including Twitch, YouTube, ChessTV, and Chess.com/Events. Chess.com's lead commentator GM Daniel Naroditsky provided commentary, alongside GM Robert Hess and GM Aman Hableton.

Past Winners

2017: GM Magnus Carlsen

2018: GM Hikaru Nakamura

2019: GM Hikaru Nakamura

2020: GM Hikaru Nakamura

Speed Chess Championship Past Winners

More from CHESScom
Legends Arena Monthly Results

Legends Arena Monthly Results

Duda: 'Since I Was Six Or Seven, I Have Been Convinced That I Would Become World Champion'

Duda: 'Since I Was Six Or Seven, I Have Been Convinced That I Would Become World Champion'