Event #5 Hidden passage

Event #5 Hidden passage


This is an event that is part of a variant called event chess. More about event chess can be read here.

Event #5 Hidden passage

Condition: None

Both players choose a square and keep the choice hidden to his opponent. The chosen square must be on that players board half (1st-4th rank for white, 5th-8th rank for black) and the square must not be occupied by a piece. There is a hidden passage between those squares.

Whenever a piece lands on a chosen square, both squares must be revealed by the players. Then the piece that landed on the square will get moved to the other square. For the rest of the game any piece landing on one of the squares will get instantly moved to the other square. If the other square is occupied by an enemy piece, then a capture will be made. If the other square is occupied by an allied piece, then the move is not legal. If it is a piece that can promote and it reaches a promotional square, then the piece is promoted.

Before the squares are revealed normal check/checkmate rules applies as if no squares are chosen. If upon revealing the squares a player put himself into check, then the move must be taken back and a different move (with any piece) be made.

Pawns on the first or second rank can move 2 spaces forward regardless if they have previously moved or not.


Note 1: It is mandatory for the piece to move through the passage to the other square. It is not optional.

Note 2: Moving through the passage counts as a second move during the same turn. This means that normal movement is made with the first move and a potential capture is made with the second move. If a pawn moves 2 steps forward and then through a passage, then its last move was not 2 steps forward and it can not be captured en passant.

Example 1:

White choose the square c4. Black choose the square f6. White plays c4 and reveals c4 is his chosen square. Black reveals f6 was his square and the pawn gets moved to f6.

Black plays Nxf6-c4. Now both players know the squares, so no square needs to be revealed.

White plays Bxc4-f6

Black plays Nc4xf6

Example 2:

Whites chosen square is c4. Blacks chosen square is g8. White plays c4 and reveals c4 is his chosen square. Black reveals that g8 is his chosen square. White chooses to promote to queen, so the move c4-g8=Q+ is made

Black can not capture en passant with bxc3 since whites last move was not c4, but rather moving through the passage. Black can not play bxc4 since there is no white piece occupying c4 square. However he is allowed to play c5-c4xg8

Similar to blacks last move white can not play bxc4 since there is no piece on c4. Later in the game black may move his pawn from g8 to g6 in one move.


Example 3:

White choose the c1 square. Black chose the c8 square. White tries to play c8=Q+. Black reveals that c8 is his chosen square. White reveals that c1 is his chosen square. Instead of c8=Q+ the move becomes c8-c1.

 White may later in the game move the pawn from c1 to c3 in one move.


Example 4:

White chose the square h3, black chose the square b5. If the squares has not been revealed this game, then white is just checkmated, game over. If the squares already has been revealed earlier in the game, then white can save himself by playing b5-h3.


Example 5:

White choose the square h3. Black choose the square c5. White plays h3 and reveals that h3 is his chosen square. Black reveals that c5 is his chosen square. Since h3-c5 would put white into check it is an illegal move. The move gets taken back and a different move must be made. White may play any move, so he does not have to play h4 (the touch rule does not apply).


Junebug444 - HorribleTomato